whom are to be employers of labor, two to be employes known to represent the interests of working men and one member to be a disinterested party. The commission is to investigate the problems of industrial accidents and especially the present condition of the law of liability for injuries or death suffered in the course of industrial employment in this and other states and to inquire into the most equitable and effectual method of providing compensation for losses suffered. The commission is to make a report to the governor on or before September 15, 1912, of its conclusions with a draft of a bill or bills as may be deemed appropriate which he is to transmit to the Thirty-fifth General Assembly. An appropriation of eight thousand dollars is made for the expenses of the commission. The commission has power to employ such assistants and help as is necessary and to fix their compensation.

HALL OF PUBLIC ARCHIVES.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES (EX OFFICIO).

BERYL F. CARROLL, Governor, President of the Board. WILLIAM C. HAYWARD, Secretary of State. ALBERT M. DEYOE, Superintendent of Public Instruction.

CHIEF JUSTICE JOHN C. SHERWIN,
JUDGE HORACE E. DEEMER,
JUDGE EMLIN MCCLAIN,
JUDGE SILAS M. WEAVER,
JUDGE SCOTT M. LADD,
JUDGE WILLIAM D. EVANS.

Judges of the Supreme Court,

Chapter 142 of the laws of the Thirty-first General Assembly made provision for the care and permanent preservation of the public archives by giving the state library and historical department custody of all the original public documents, papers, letters, records and other official manuscripts of the state executive and administrative departments, offices or officers, councils, boards, bureaus and commissions, ten years after the date of the current use of such public documents, papers, letters, records, or other official manuscripts.

The act also provided that the public archives shall be housed in the Historical, Memorial and Art Building in rooms to be known as the Hall of Public Archives.

Chapter 157 acts of the Thirty-second General Assembly provided that the executive council should superintend the arrangement, labeling, filing and calendaring of the archives, the same to be delivered to the state library and historical department for preservation. An annual appropriation of \$3,500 was made by the Thirty-fourth General Assembly for the biennial period ending June 30, 1913.

The work of arranging, classifying, etc., is now under charge of Cassius C. Stiles, superintendent, at a salary of \$85.00 per month.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—William Langham, Cedar Rapids.
Vice-President—Morris J. Graham, Adel.
Secretary—Wesley Greene, Davenport.
Treasurer—Frank O. Harrington, Williamsburg.
Librarian—Wesley Greene, Davenport.

DIRECTORS.

First District—Chauncey G. Blodgett, Mount Pleasant.
Second District—John Forster, Albia.
Third District—George H. Van Houten, Lenox.
Fourth District—Abraham B. Dennis, Cedar Rapids.
Fifth District—Millard Harrington Williamsburg.
Stath District—Clayton O. Garrett, Adelphl.
Seventh District—William B. Chapman, Washta.

Eighth District—Charles H. True, Edgewood. Ninth District—William C. Havlland, Fort Dodge. Tenth District—Lewis A. Clemons, Storm Lake. Eleventh District—Charles F. Gardner, Osage. Twelfth District—Eugene Secor, Forest City.

The directors for the odd-numbered districts are elected in the even-numbered years, and those for the even-numbered districts in the odd numbered years,

Any resident of the state is eligible to membership in the society. The secretary will on application furnish information relating to membership.

The annual meeting begins on Tuesday before the second Wednesday in December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arborculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. The rooms of the society are kept open at all times for the reception of visitors. All communications on horticultural topics will be promptly answered by the secretary.

STATE FORESTRY COMMISSIONER.

Wesley Greene, of Scott county, secretary of the state horticultural society is ex officio state forestry commissioner. His address is Des Moines, Iowa, He serves as commissioner without compensation. The law authorizes him to appoint deputies to serve without salary for each county or group of counties, who shall assist him in the performance of his duties, and also make report to him annually of forestry matters for the use of the horticultural society.

The object of the law is to encourage the planting of forest and fruit trees in the state. The act provides that any person owning land in the state may plant or select a tract of land not less than two acres in area for a forest reservation, provided there shall be not less than two hundred forest trees growing on each acre and that live stock is not permitted to pasture on it.

A fruit reservation shall not be less than one or more than five acres in area and can be claimed for a period of eight years after planting; provided that there are not less than seventy fruit trees growing on each acre, under proper care, and that cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats and hogs are not permitted on said reservation.

Forest and fruit tree reservations are assessed at a taxable value of one dollar an acre.

Any landowner in this state wishing to plant or select a forest or fruit tree reservation, or both, should apply for the privilege to the assessor when listing property for assessment.

BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS.

Chairman-George Cosson, Attorney-General.

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD.

GEORGE COSSON, 62 Officio.	_	
	Terms	Expire.
E. CHARLES EBERSOLE, Toledo		
CHARLES W. LYON, Des Moines	July	4, 1911
CHARLES D. LEGGETT, Fairfield	July	4, 1912
RALPH PRINGLE, Red Oak	July	4, 1912
FRED W. SARGENT, SIOUX City	July	4, 1912

The state board of law examiners was created by an act of the Twenty-eighth General Assembly which went into effect on the 4th day of July, 1901. The attorney-general is, by virtue of his office, chalrman of the board, and the other members are appointed by the supreme court.