Since its organization in 1892 the survey has carried on the work thus outlined over a large portion of the state. Up to the present time it has surveyed and mapped seventy-nine counties, covering an area of 45,068 square miles. Reports covering the physiography, the geology and the natural resources of these counties have been prepared, with especial reference to their economic products, such as coal, clay, stone for building and other purposes, water resources, etc. In addition to this line of work special investigation has also been made of the coal deposits of the state, of the gypsum beds, of lead and zinc, artesian wells, building stones, peat deposits and cement materials. Special reports have been published covering these topics, in some cases as parts of annual reports, in others as special reports. The report on coal was issued as Volume II, that on artesian wells and lead and zinc as Volume VI, and that on clays as Volume XIV. A preliminary report on cement materials is included in Volume XV, and during the current year a more complete report will be issued as Volume XVII of the annual reports. In addition to the sixteen annual and special reports already published a treatise on "The Grasses of Iowa" was issued as Bulletin No. 1 in 1901 and a supplementary report, consisting of Part 2 of "The Grasses of Iowa" was published in 1904. A preliminary report on the peat resources of the state and on tests of Iowa coals, made at the St. Louis coal testing plant, was issued as Bulletin No. 2, in 1905, and a supplementary report on cement materials was prepared as Bulletin No. 3, in 1906.

It is intended to co-operate during the coming summer with the United States Geological Survey in the making of topographic maps of those parts of the state whose coal resources make such maps particularly desirable and useful.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

OFFICERS.

President—William A. Burnaf, Clear Lake. Vice-President—William M. Bomberger, Harlan. Secretary—Webley Greens, Davenport. Treasurer—Elmer M. Reves, Waverly. Librarian—Wesley Greene, Davenport.

DIRECTORS.

First District—C. G. Blodgett, Mount Pleasant.
Second District—John Forster, Albia.
Third District—W. Murphy, Glenwood.
Fourth District—William Langham, Cedar Rapids.
Fifth District—W. O. Willard, Grinnell.
Sixth District—Morris J. Graham, Adel.
Seventh District—W. B. Chapman, Washta.
Eighth District—C. H. True, Edgewood.
Ninth District—George A. Ivins, Iowa Falls.
Tenth District—Lewis A. Clemons, Storm Lake.
Bleventh District—Charles F. Gardner, Osage.
Twelfth District—Eugene Secor, Forest City.

The directors for the odd-numbered districts are elected in the even-numbered years, and those for the even-numbered districts in the odd-numbered years.

Any resident of the state is eligible to membership in the society. Information relating to membership is sent on application to the secretary.

The annual meeting begins on Tuesday before the second Wednesday in December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arborculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. The rooms of the society are kept open at all times for the reception of visitors. All communications on horticultural topics will be promptly answered by the secretary.

The next annual meeting will be held in Des Moines, December 11, 12 and 13, 1997.

STATE FORESTRY COMMISSIONER.

WESLEY GREENE, of Scott county, secretary of the state horticultural society, is ex officio state forestry commissioner. His address is Des Moines, Iowa. He serves as commissioner without compensation. The law authorizes him to appoint deputies to serve without salary for each county or group of counties, who shall assist him in the performance of his duties, and also make report to him annually of forestry matters for the use of the horticultural society.

The object of the law is to encourage the planting of forest and fruit trees in the state. The act provides that any person owning land in the state may plant or select a tract of land not less than two acres in area for a forest reservation, provided there shall be not less than two hundred forest trees growing on each acre and that live stock is not permitted to pasture on it.

A fruit reservation shall not be less than one or more than five acres in area and can be claimed for a period of eight years after planting; provided that there are not less than seventy fruit trees growing on each acre, under proper care, and that cattle, horses, mules, sheep, goats and hogs are not permitted on said reservation.

Forest and fruit tree reservations are assessed at a taxable value of one dollar an acre.

Any landowner in this state wishing to plant or select a forest or fruit tree reservation, or both, should apply for the privilege to the assessor when listing property for assessment.

THE STATE HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF IOWA.

Established by law in the year 1857. Located at Iowa City, Iowa.

OFFICERS.

President—Peter A. Dat. Vice-President—Isaac A. Loos. Treasurer—Lovell Swisher. Secretary—Frank E. Horack.

BOARD OF CURATORS.

Elected by the Society.-M. W. Davis, Peter A. Dey, George W. Ball, Benjamin F. Shambaugh, Isaac A. Loos, A. E. Swisher, J. W. Rich, Euclid Sanders, Leanes G. Weld.

Appointed by the Governor-Harvey Ingham, John Sandham, Irving B. Richman, E. W. Stanton, L. W. Parish, O. B. Clark, Chas. E. Shelton, J. J. McConnell, William Milchrist.

The state historical society of Iowa was organized in January, 1857. The objects of the society today are practically the same as set forth in its original constitution, "To preserve in authentic form a library of books, pamphlets, maps, charts, manuscripts, papers, paintings, statuary and other material illustrative of the history of Iowa, . . . to exhibit faithfully the antiquities and the past and present resources of the state; and to promote the study of history by lectures, and diffuse and publish information relating to the description and history of Iowa."

Since its organization the society has published three different quarterly magazines. From 1863 to 1874 inclusive it published The Annals of Iowa, 12