to the Twenty-seventh General Assembly (1898). This latter body increased the appropriation \$30,000. It also provided that the site, which had cost \$4,300, should be held as the site for the arsenal, and that the sum of \$15,000, to be realized from the sale to the city of the old arsenal property, should be devoted to the purchase of a new site for the Historical Building. The Executive Council, as a commission, to which Mr. Charles Aldrich had been added by the General Assembly, proceeded to purchase a site on the northeast corner of Eleventh street and Grand avenue, and let the contract for the erection of the west wing of the proposed structure.

The corner-stone of the new building was laid by Governor Shaw, with appropriate ceremonies, May 17, 1899, and thereafter the work of construction was pushed as rapidly as possible to completion. All the collections of the Historical Department—including the Museum—previously located in the southeast corner of the capitol building, in three of the basement rooms, were transferred to their new quarters in January, 1900. The work of permanently arranging these collections has since been proceeding as rapidly as the conditions of the building and the reception of furniture would permit. The edifice is a fine and commodious one, and thoroughly equipped with modern appliances.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY

President—M. J. WRAGG, Waukee. Vice-President—N. K. Fluke, Davenport. Secretary—WESLEY GREENE, Davenport. Treasurer—Elmer M. Reeves, Waverly. Librarian—WESLEY GREENE, Davenport.

DIRECTORS

First District—C. G. Blodgett, Mt. Pleasant.

Second District—Abner Branson, New Sharon

Third District—Silas Wilson, Atlantic

Fourth District—William Langham, Cedar Rapids

Fifth District W. O. Willard, Grinnell.

Sixth District—A. L. Plummer, Ivy.

Seventh District—B. Shontz, Correctionville

Eighth District—R. P. Speer, Cedar Falls.

Ninth District—B. F. Ferris, Hampton.

Tenth District—P. F. Kinne, Storm Lake

Eleventh District—W. A. Burnap, Clear Lake.

Twelfth District—Eugene Secor, Forest City.

Terms of members from even numbered districts will expire in 1901; those of odd numbered districts in 1902.

Annual meetings of the society are held the second Tuesday of December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. The rooms of the society are kept open at all times for the reception of visitors. All communications on horticultural topics will be promptly answered by the secretary. Next annual meeting the second Tuesday in December, 1901.

IOWA GEOLOGICAL SURVEY.

Geological Board:

HON. L. M SHAW, Governor of Iowa.

HON. F. F. MERRIAM, Auditor of State.

DR. GEORGE E. McLEAN, President of State University of Iowa.

DR. WM. M. BEARDSHEAR, President of Iowa State College.

PROF F. A. VEBLEN, President of Iowa Academy of Sciences.

Geological Corps:

SAMUEL CALVIN, State Geologist.

A. G. LEONARD, Assistant State Geologist.

J. B WEEMS, Chemist.

S. W. BEYER,
W. H. NORTON,
J. A. UDDEN,
T. H. McBRIDE,
F. A. WILDER,
IRA A. WILLIAMS,

BENJAMIN L. MILLER,

Special assistants.

THOMAS J. SAVAGE, NELLIE E. NEWMAN, Secretary.

Since its organization in 1892, the Iowa Geological Survey has issued ten reports, including eight annual and two special reports. It has surveyed and mapped forty-six counties, with an area of 26,725 square miles. Reports have been prepared on the physiography, geology and natural resources of these counties, special attention being given to their economic products, such as coal, clay and building stone. Special reports have also been prepared on the