AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY.

OFFICERS.

President.—JOHN COWNIE, South Amana, Iowa county. Vice-President.—W. F. HARRIMAN, Hampton, Franklin county. Secretary.—P. L. FOWLER, Des Moines, Polk county. Treasurer.—G. D. ELLYSON, Des Moines, Polk county.

DIRECTORS.

TERMS EXPIRE JANUARY, 1899.

| J. P. Manatrey | | |
|--|---------------------------|--|
| George W. Franklin | Atlantic, Cass county | |
| A. L. Plummer | Ivy, Polk county | |
| D. Sheehan | Osage, Mitchell county | |
| TERMS EXPIRE JANUARY, 1900. | | |
| J. C. Frasier | Bloomfield, Davis county | |
| L. H. Pickard | Harlan, Shelby county | |
| M. J. Wragg | | |
| J. W. Wadsworth | Algona, Kossuth county | |
| R. J. Johnston | Humboldt, Humboldt county | |
| Appropriation by the Twenty-sixth General Assembly, \$7,000. | | |
| The association holds its annual meetings in January of each | | |
| year for election of officers, transaction of its general business and | | |
| financial settlement. | _ | |

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President.—C. F. GARDNER, Osage. Vice-President.—M. J. WRAGG, Waukee. Secretary.—GEORGE H. VAN HOUTEN, Lenox. Treusurer.—W. M. BOMBERGER, Harlan. Librarian.—GEORGE H. VAN HOUTEN, Lenox.

DIRECTORS.

First District.—G. B. Brackett, Denmark.
Second District.—Abner Branson, New Sharon.
Third District.—M. G. Edwards, Glenwood.
Fourth District.—Wesley Greene, Davenport.
Fifth District.—W. O. McElroy, Newton.

Sixth District.—A. L. Plummer, Ivy. Seventh District.—B. Shontz, Correctionville.

Eighth District.—R. P. Speer, Cedar Falls.

Ninth District.—B. F. Ferris, Hampton.

Tenth District.-P. F. Kinne, Storm Lake.

Eleventh District.—Elmer Reeves, Waverly.

Twelfth District. -Eugene Secor, Forest City.

Terms of members from even numbered districts will expire in 1899; those of odd numbered districts in 1898.

Annual meetings of the society are held the second Tuesday of December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. Next annual meeting the second Tuesday in December, 1898.

IOWA STATE TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION.

| President.—A. N Currier | Iowa City |
|---|--------------|
| Vice-PresidentsF. E. Willard | Marshalltown |
| Carrie B. Parker. | Spencer |
| J. H. Beveridge | Glidden |
| Secretary.—Carrie M. Goodell | Corydon |
| TreasurerG. W. Samson | Cedar Falls |
| Executive Committee,—F. J. Sessions | Waterloo |
| Kate E. Corkhill | Indianola |
| W. F. Chevalier | Red Oak |
| The objects of this association are mutual bonefit of its members | |

The objects of this association are mutual benefit of its members educationally, and the improvement of the schools of Iowa.