In 1857 the society was organized under an act of the Sixth General Assembly, making an appropriation for its support and providing that it should be "in connection with and under the auspices of the State University; the object of the society shall be to collect, body, arrange and preserve in authentic form a library of books, pamphlets, maps, charts, manuscripts, papers, paintings, statuary and other materials illustrative of the history of Iowa; to rescue from oblivion the memory of its early pioneers; to obtain and preserve narratives of their exploits, perils and hardy adventures; to secure facts and statements relative to the history, genius, progress or decay of our Indian tribes; to exhibit faithfully the antiquities and the past and present resources of the State; and to promote the study of history by lectures and diffuse and publish information relating to the description and history of Iowa."

The society has endeavored to carry out these objects and has accumulated a vast amount of material that would have been lost forever.

They have over 700 bound volumes of State newspapers, some reaching back before the organization of and from all parts of the State, which contain more local history than can be obtained in any other form. The *Historical Record*, a quarterly publication of the society, is sent to all historical societies and to the public libraries in the country, and to such newspapers in the State as send in exchange their publications, which are bound as soon as volumes are completed, and placed on the shelves.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President.—F. M. Powell, Glenwood. Vice-President.—C. F. Gardner, Osage. Secretary.—George H. Van Houten, Lenox. Treasurer.—W. M. Bomberger, Harlan. Librarian.—George H. Van Houten, Lenox.

DIRECTORS.

First District. - Samuel Park, Ottumwa. Second District. - Abner Branson, New Sharon. Third District. -- *J. W. Murphy, Glenwood,

^{*}To fill vacancy.

Fourth District.—N. K. Fluke, Davenport. Fifth District.—D. A. Porterfield, Traer. Sixth District.—A. L. Plummer, Ivy. Seventh District.—B. Schontz, Correctionville. Eighth District.—R. P. Speer, Cedar Falls. Ninth District.—B. F. Ferris, Hampton. Tenth District.—P. F. Kinne, Storm Lake. Eleventh District.—Elmer Reeves, Waverly. Twelfth District.—Eugene Secor, Forest City.

Terms of members from even numbered districts will expire in 1897; those of odd numbered districts, in 1896

Annual meetings of the society are held the second Tuesday of December of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in the state by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the state. Next annual meeting the second Tuesday in December, 1896.

HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-CLARINDA.

FRANK C. HOYT, M. D., Superintendent, Clarinda.

TERMS EX	PIRE.
Trustees-J. D. M. HAMILTON, President, Fort Madison	1898
T. McK. Stuart, Secretary, Chariton	1898
T. E. Clark, Treasurer, Clarinda	1900
Edward H Hunter, Des Moines	1902
W. W. Morrow, Creston	1902

RESIDENT OFFICERS.

FRANK C. HOYT, M. D.	Superintendent
C. F. APPLEGATE, M. D.	First Assistant Physician
ANNA BURNET, M. D.	Second Assistant Physician
ALFRED T. GUNDRY, M. D.	Third Assistant Physician
E. D. CULLISON	Steward
KATE RUMSEY	