paintings, statuary, and other materials illustrative of the history of lowa; to rescue from oblivion the memory of its early pioneers, to obtain and preserve narrative of their exploits, perils and hardy adventures; to secure facts and statements relative to the history, genius, progress or decay of our Indian tribes; to exhibit faithfully the antiquities, and the past and present resources of the State, and to promote the study of history by lectures, and diffuse and publish information relating to the description and history of Iowa.

The library now numbers 15,000 volumes, also photographs of every Governor and United States Senator of Iowa.

The museum contains nearly 5,000 specimens of miscellaneous character.

## HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—A. F. Collman, Corning.

Vice-President—J. C. Ferris, Hampton.

Secretary—J. L. Budd, Ames.

Treasurer—Silas Wilson, Atlantic.

Librarian and Custodian—Ed Wright, Des Moines.

DIRECTORS.

First District—Samuel Park, Ottnmwa.

Second District—Ben. McCoy, Oskaloosa.

Third District—F. M. Powell, Glenwood.

Fourth District—W. H. Holmes, Davenport.

Fifth District—D. A. Porterfield, Traer.

Sixth District—M. J. Wragg, Waukee.

Seventh District—B. Schontz, Correctionville.

Eighth District—B. F. Speer, Cedar Falls.

Ninth District—B. F. Ferris, Hampton.

Tenth District—M. E. Hinkley, Marcus.

Eleventh District—Elmer Reeves, Waverly.

Twelfth District—J. M. Elder, Concord.

Annual meetings of the society are held at their rooms in the capitol the third Tuesday of each year.

The society publishes an annual report full of valuable and interesting papers.

The object of this society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in the State by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the State.

## HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-CLARINDA.

<del></del>
FRANK C. Hoyt, M. D, Clarinda, Superinten dent.
Trustees-J. D. M. Hamilton, Ft. Madison, President. April 1, 1898
T. McK. Stuart, Chariton, Secretary1898
M. N. Spencer, Red Oak, Treasurer1896
J. H. Dunlap, Clarinda
E. H. Hunter, Des Moines1896
RESIDENT OFFICERS.
FRANK C. HOYT, M. D
CHARLES A. DREW, M. D First Assistant Physician
HOMER E. MARKHAM, M. D Second Assistant Physician

E. D. CULLISON......Steward

The corner stone for this institution was laid July 4th, 1885, and the building was completed and opened for the reception of patients December 15th, 1888.

The following statistics are from the opening until June 30th, 1893:

	*	rles	<u></u>
	Males	Femal	Tota
Number admitted	828	303	1,131
Number discharged, recovered	139	16	155
Number discharged, improved	137	18	155
Number discharged, unimproved	60	Б	65
Number discharged, transferred	38	7	45
Number discharged, died	127	24	151
Discharged since beginning	501	70	571
Total remaining July 1st. 1893	327	233	560

Reports are made and published biennially.