antiquities, and the past and present resources of the State; and to promote the study of history by lectures and diffuse and publish information relating to the description and history of Iowa."

The society has endeavored to carry out these objects and has accumulated a vast amount of material that would have been lost forever.

They have over seven hundred bound volumes of State newspapers, some reaching back before the organization of and from all parts of the State, which contains more local history than can be obtained in any other form. The Historical Record, a quarterly publication of the Society, is sent to all historical societies, and to the public libraries in the country, and to such newspapers in the State as send in exchange their publications, which are bound as soon as volumes are completed, and placed on the shelves.

Appropriation by the Twenty-fourth General Assembly, \$1,000.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—Eugene Secor, Forest City. Vice-President—A. F. Coleman—Corning. Secretary—G. B. Brackett, Denmark. Treasurer—Henry Strohm, Iowa City.

DIRECTORS.

First District—Jonathan Thatcher, Bonaparte.
Second District—Geo. W. Shaw, Garden Grove.
Third District—L. A. Williams, Glenwood.
Fourth District—N. K. Fluke, Davenport.
Fifth District—W. H. Lathrop, Iowa City.
Sixth District—C. L. Watrous, Des Moines.
Seventh District—Christian Steinman, Mapleton.
Eighth District—H. W. Nash, West Union.
Ninth District—B. F. Ferris, Hampton.
Tenth District—M. E. Hinkley, Marcus.
Eleventh District—C. G. Patten, Charles City.
Twelfth District—J. M. Elder, Concord.

The object of the society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arborculture in Iowa, by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the State.

The Society publishes lists of fruits, as well as trees for timber or ornament, best suited to growth in this State.

In order to facilitate the work the State is divided into twelve districts, each having its own director, and holding its own meetings, and it is the duty of the directors to report to the Secretary of the Society.

The Society has now established twenty experimental stations in different parts of the State, for the purpose of testing trees, shrubs, plants and fruits, before recommending them for cultivation.

The annual meetings of the Society will hereafter be held at their rooms in the capitol, on the third Tuesday of each year.

The Society publishes an annual report full of interesting and valuable papers.

HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-CLARINDA.

| P. W. LEWELLEN, M. D., Superintendent, Clarinda. | |
|--|------|
| Trustees-J. H. Dunlap, President, ClarindaApril 1, 1 | 1894 |
| M. N. SPENCER, Secretary, Red Oak | 1896 |
| ED. H. HUNTER, Treasurer, Des Moines | 1896 |
| J. D. M. Hamilton, Fort Madison | 1898 |
| T. Mck. Stuart, Council Bluffs | 1898 |

This hospital was built in accordance with an act of the Twentieth General Assembly (1884). Clarinda, Page county, was selected as the location, and on July 4, 1885, the corner stone was laid for the building, which was opened for the reception of patients December 15, 1888, at which time there was received from other hospitals in the State two hundred and seventy-four male patients. The number of patients at beginning of past biennial period—July 1, 1889—was two hundred and forty-two; admitted during biennial period, ending July 1, 1891, three hundred and thirteen.