library and cabinet occupy a fire-proof building in a part of Iowa City, convenient and acceptable to the public, which is visited by thousands of people every year.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—SILAS WILSON, Atlantic. Vice-President—EUGENE SECOR, Forest City. Secretary—GEORGE VAN HOUTEN, Lenox. Treasurer—HENRY STROHM, IOWA City, Librarian—G. W. BRACKETT, Denmark.

DIRECTORS.

First District—Jonathan Thatcher, Bonaparte. Second District—F. H. Bruning, Kent. Third District—A. F. Collman, Corning. Fourth District—N. K. Fluke, Davenport. Fifth District—H. W. Lathrop, Iowa City. Sixth District—C. L. Watrous, Des Moines. Seventh District—Christian Steinman, Mapleton. Eighth District—R. P. Speer, Cedar Falls. Ninth District—W. C. Haviland, Fort Dodge. Tenth District—M. E. Hinckley, Marcus. Eleventh District—C. G. Patten, Charles City. Twelfth District—J. M. Elder, Concord.

The object of the Society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arborculture in Iowa, by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the State.

The Society publishes lists of fruits, as well as trees for timber or ornament, best suited to growth in this State.

In order to facilitate the work the State is divided into twelve districts, each having its own director, and holding its own meetings, and it is the duty of the directors to report to the Secretary of the Society.

The Society has now established twenty experimental stations in different parts of the State, for the purpose of testing trees, shrubs, plants and fruits, before recommending them for cultivation.

The annual meetings of the Society will hereafter be held at their rooms in the capitol, on the third Tuesday of each year.

The Society publishes an annual report full of interesting and valuable papers.

HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-CLARINDA.

P. W. LEWELLEN, M. D., Clarinda-Superintendent.

Trustees-E. J. HARTSHORN, Emmetsburg, President	1892
L. B. RAYMOND, Hampton, Secretary	1890
J. H. Dunlap, Clarinda	1894
J. D. M. Hamilton, Ft. Madison	1892
Ed. H. Hunter, Des Moines	1890

Treasurer-L. E. DARROW, Corning.

This Hospital was built in accordance with an act of the Twentieth General Assembly (1884). Clarinda, Page county, was selected as the location, and on July 4, 1885, the corner stone was laid for the building, which was completed and opened for the reception of patients December 15, 1888, at which time there was received from