lecting, embodying, arranging and preserving in authentic form charts, books, pamphlets, maps, manuscripts, papers, etc., relative to the history of Iowa, to rescue from oblivion the memory of its pioneers, to obtain and preserve the stories of their exploits, perils and hardy adventures; to secure facts and statements relative to the history of our Indian tribes.

The Fourteenth General Assembly reorganized the Historical Society, raising the number of curators to eighteen, nine to be appointed by the Governor and the Same number by the Society, to hold their office for a term of two years.

The Eighteenth General Assembly increased the annual appropriation to \$1,000.

Annual meetings of the Society are held the last week in June.

## HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

President—C. G. Patten, Charles City. Vice-President—Eugene Secor, Forest City. Secretary—Geo Van Houten, Lenox. Treasurer—Henry Strohm, Iowa City. Librarian and Custodian—D B. Brackett, Denmark.

## DIRECTORS.

First District-Jonathan Thatcher	Bonaparte.
Second District-F. H. Bruning	Kent.
Third District-A F. Collman	Corning.
Fourth District-N. K. Fluke	Davenport.
Fifth District-H. W. Lathrop	Iowa City.
Sixth District-C. L. Watrous	Des Moines.
Seventh District-H, A. Johns.	Sioux City.
Eighth District-R. P. Speer	Cedar Falls.
Ninth District-A. J. Haviland	Fort Dodge.
Tenth District-M. E. Hinckley	Marcus.
Eleventh District-C. F. Gardner	Osage.
Twelfth District-J. M. Elder	Concord.

22

The Society received its first annual appropriation of \$800 from the State in 1868, which annual amount has since been increased to \$1,000.

The object of the Society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and aboriculture in Iowa, by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the State.

The Society publishes lists of fruits as well as trees for timber or ornament, best suited to growth in this State

In order to facilitate the work the State is divided into twelve districts, each having its own director, and holding its own meetings, and it is the duty of the directors to report to the Secretary of the Society.

The Society has now established twenty experimental stations in different parts of the State, for the purpose of testing trees, shrubs, plants and fruits, before recommending them for cultivation.

The annual meetings of the Society will hereafter be held at their rooms in the Capitol, on the third Tuesday in January of each year.

The Society publishes an annual report full of interesting and valuable papers.

## HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-Mt. Pleasant.

Superintendent—H. A. GILMAN, Mt. Pleasant.

Trustees-C. H. Spahr, Mt. Pleasant	1890
Samuel Klein, Keokuk	
G. W. Cullison, Harlan	
D. A. Hurst, Oskaloosa	1892
John H. Kulp, Davenport	1892
The Fifth General Assembly by an act app	roved January 24.

1855, established the above named institution.

A committee was appointed to locate and erect suitable buildings. Accordingly work was commenced late in 1855, from plans