The Sixth General Assembly, by an act approved January 28, 1857, provided an appropriation of \$250 to be expended in collecting, embodying, arranging and preserving in authentic form, charts, books, pamphlets, maps, manuscripts, papers, etc., relative to the history of Iowa, to secure from oblivion the memory of its pioneers, to obtain and preserve the stories of their exploits, perils and hardy adventures; to secure facts and statements relative to the history of our Indian tribes.

The Fourteenth General Assembly reorganized the Historical Society, raising the number of curators to eighteen, nine to be appointed by the Governor and the same number by the Society, to hold their office for a term of two years.

The Righteenth General Assembly increased the annual appropriation to \$1,000.

Annual meetings of the Society are held the last week in June.

HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY.

OFFICERS: C. G. Patten, President_____Charles City

Eugene Secor, Vice-President	Forest City
George Van Houten, Secretary	Lenox
H. Strohm, Treasurer	Iowa City
DIRECTORS.	
1st District-Jonathan Thatcher	Bonaparte
2d District-F. W. Taylor	Стеston
3d District -A. L. Collman.	Corning
4th District-N. K. Fluke	Davenport
5th District-H. W. Lathrop	Iowa City
6th DistrictC. L. Watrous	Des Moines
7th District—H. A. Johns	
8th District-R. P. Speer	Cedar Falls
9th District-W. C. Haviland	Ft. Dodge
10th District-M. Vincent	Le Mars
11th District-C. F. Gardner	Osage
12th District-J. M. Elder	

The Society received its first annual appropriation of \$800 from the State in 1868, which annual amount has since been increased to \$1,000.

The object of the Society is the promotion and encouragement of horticulture and arboriculture in Iowa, by the collection and dissemination of practical information regarding the cultivation of such fruits, flowers and trees as are best adapted to the soil and climate of the State.

The Society publishes lists of fruits as well as trees for timber or ornament, best suited to growth in this State.

In order to facilitate the work the State is divided into twelve districts, each having its own director, and holding its own meetings, and it is the duty of the directors to report to the Secretary of the Society.

The Society has now established twenty experimental stations in different parts of the State, for the purpose of testing trees, shrubs, plants and fruits, before recommending them for cultivation.

The annual meetings of the Society will hereafter be held at their rooms in the Capitol, on the third Tuesday of each year.

The Society publishes an annual report full of interesting and valuable papers.

HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE - Mt. Pleasant,

H. A. GILMAN, Superintendent.

Trustees-T. Whiting, Mount Pleasant1886
P. W. Lewellen, Clarinda1886
W. I. Babb, Mount Pleasant1886
D. A. Hurst, Oskaloosa1888
John H. Kulp, Davenport1888

The Fifth General Assembly, by an act approved January 24, 1855, restablished the above-named institution.

Edward Johnson and Dr. C. S. Clarke were appointed a committee to locate and erect suitable buildings; accordingly work was commenced late in 1855, under the superintendence of Mr. Winslow, from plans furnished by Dr. Bell, of Boston. The buildings, designed