Speech Pathology and Audiology Examiners

The board, responsible for licensing of approximately 325 people, is composed of five licensed speech pathologists or audiologists and two public members. The speech pathologists and audiologists licensing law was enacted in 1976, and Chapters 147 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Jacqueline F. Bryant, Cedar Rapids; Kenneth C. Hawes, Rockford; Marvin Pekny, Council Bluffs; John E. Scherrman, Sioux City; Julia A. Shirk, Des Moines; Darrell L. Wheeler, Knoxville; Donald R. White, Davenport.

Advanced Emergency Medical Care Council

Members are appointed by the State Board of Health. They are: James German, D.O., Des Moines; Ronald D. Eckoff, M.D., M.P.H., Des Moines; Jane Hasek, R.N., Reinbeck; Robert G. Hathaway, M.D., Waterloo; William Kettelkamp, M.D., Marion; Jerry Long, Webster City; Roger Nelson, Brooklyn; Joseph H. Spearing, Harlan; Mike Stevens, Cedar Rapids; Ernest O. Theilen, M.D., Iowa City; Carol Wagner, R.N., Mount Vernon; Douglas K. York, Ottumwa.

Division of Personal and Family Health

JOHN E. GOODRICH, D.D.S., M.P.H., chief.

The Division of Personal and Family Health works in several specific areas to provide health care for Iowans. The Maternal and Child Health Section strives to assure comprehensive health services, especially preventive, for women (ages 15-44), and children (under age 21), in the state of Iowa by funding and promoting the development of Child Health Centers and Maternal Health Centers. The Child Health Centers and Maternal Health Centers assure preventive health to children and pregnant women through health education, assessment, counseling, referral to the appropriate health and social providers, and appropriate follow-up. The Dental Health Section works to assure good oral health for Iowa's citizens by promoting community water fluoridation, topical fluoride programs, school dental health education, preventive dentistry and screening and referral services.

A Birth Defects Institute was established in the Iowa State Department of Health by the 66th General Assembly. This program provides genetic counseling to Iowa families through 16 regional clinic sites. In addition, the institute is authorized to seek information on the causes for prevention of birth defects and related diseases. It can conduct research, distribute its findings, educate and train medical practitioners, and is in the process of instituting a program for screening of newborns for four genetic and metabolic diseases.

A Supplemental Food Program (WIC) in 99 counties serves low income women and children who are nutritionally at risk by providing special foods, nutrition education and referral for health care.

A sudden Infant Death Syndrome Program informs and educates the public about sudden infant death, and provides crisis counseling for parents.

The Iowa Family Planning Program provides services to residents of 59 counties through contracts with 12 delegate agencies. Clinics and local physicians provide medical examinations for contraceptive care, counseling on infertility and sterilization, and referrals for educational and supportive health services.

Birth Defects Advisory Committee

Members are appointed by the public health commissioner. They are: James Hanson, M.D., Iowa City; Dwight Cruikshank, M.D., Iowa City; Richard Fischer, Des Moines; Kathleen Kellen, Des Moines; John MacQueen, M.D., Iowa City; Vernon Varner, M.D., J.D., Des Moines; Michael E. Myszewski, Ph.D., Des Moines; Joan K. Stadler, Ph.D., Ames; Brenda Goepfert, R.N., Cedar Rapids; Virginia VonTalge, Manchester; Harold Bridges, Muscatine; Clive Ayers, D.O., Atlantic; Vasthi Christensen, R.N., Council Bluffs; Zenobia White, Des Moines; Mary Lyons, M.D., Des Moines; Minnette Doderer, Iowa City; Sen, Lucas J. DeKoster, Hull.