Central Administration/Professional Licensure, Division of

Robert K. Knight, director; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-

The Division of Central Administration/Professional Licensure provides administrative support to the department including fiscal management, information management, purchasing, word processing, statistical services, and personnel documents processing. It also administers the vital records section, which is responsible for the registration and issuance of birth, death, marriage, and other confidential records in accordance with Chapters 22 and 144, Code of Iowa.

Professional Licensure

Boards of health-related examiners, appointed by the governor, are administratively placed in the Professional Licensure division.

The following boards receive administrative support from the Professional Licensure Division.

Barber Examiners

Carol J. Barnhill, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4408

CARROLL W. ANDERSON, chair, Waterloo; term expires 1990 KAREN ANN VOECKS, secretary, Des Moines; term expires 1990

AL C. MAIERS, Dubuque; term expires 1992 MARK ALLAN STANSBERRY, Sioux City; term expires 1991

DONNA J. WEISS, Dow City; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 2,200 barbers and 1,200 establishments, is composed of three licensed barbers and two public members. The barber licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 158, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Cosmetology Examiners

Grace West, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-

JAMES O'NEALL, chair, Pocahontas; term expires 1990

ROGER A. CHAPMAN, Cedar Falls; term expires 1991

MAXINE O. COCHRAN, Oskaloosa; term expires 1991

JOANN BOELMAN PALS, Mason City; term expires 1992

MARGARET A. TURK, Creston; term expires 1990

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 20,000 cosmetologists and 5,000 establishments, is composed of three licensed cosmetologists and two public members. The cosmetology licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 157, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Chiropractic Examiners

Harriett L. Miller, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4416

CARL H. LUNDAHL, D.C., chair, Indianola; term expires 1992

F. DOW BATES, D.C., vice-chair, Des Moines, term expires 1990

MARGE E. ASKEW, secretary, Thurman; term expires 1990

KENNETH L. MUELLER, D.C., superintendent of examinations, Harlan; term expires 1991

RAMONA M. KENNEDY, D.C., Cherokee; term expires 1991

KENNETH G. PRIDE, D.C., Humboldt; term expires 1990 SR. MARILYN S. WHITTY, Ames; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 1,100 chiropractors, is composed of five licensed chiropractors and two public members. The chiropractic licensing law was enacted in 1921, and Chapters 147, 151, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Hearing Aid Dealers Examiners

Carol J. Barnhill, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4408

ROBERT S. KLOPP, chair, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1990 MARY M. SMITH, secretary, Onawa; term expires 1990

JOSEPH G. HUIBSCH, Iowa Falls; term expires 1992

DOROTHEA M. LUDDINGTON, Des Moines; term expires 1992

RONALD G. RICHER, Urbandale; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 237 hearing aid dealers, is composed of three licensed as hearing aid dealers and two public members. The hearing aid dealers licensing law was enacted in 1974, and Chapters 147, 154A, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Mortuary Science Examiners

Harriett L. Miller, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4416

CALVIN VAN ARKEL, chair, Oskaloosa; term expires 1992 BURNITA ANKERSTJERNE, Sergeant Bluff, term expires 1991

ALVIN E. BREMER, Mason City; term expires 1990

CORNELIA V. HOY, Adel; term expires 1990 PETER R. TEAHEN, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 860 funeral directors and embalmers, is composed of three licensed funeral directors and two public members. The mortuary science licensing law was enacted in 1907, and Chapters 147, 156, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Nursing Home Administrators Examiners

Keith Rankin, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4401

MARCIA DUDDEN, chair, Reinbeck; term expires 1991

MURRAY D. BERGGREN, vice-chair, Buffalo Center; term expires 1990

STEVEN C. DOWD, secretary, Bettendorf; term expires 1991

PHYLLIS E. CROUSE, R.N., Ames; term expires 1990 DARRELL E. DEVICK, D.O., Polk City; term expires 1991

DOLORES M. GROSS, Defiance; term expires 1991

ALEXA L. MAYNER, Independence; term expires 1991

DONNA R. ROBINSON, R.N., Des Moines; term expires 1992 VACANCY

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 619 nursing home administrators, is composed of four licensed nursing home administrators, three persons licensed in other professions involved with the treatment of the chronically ill or elderly, and two public members. The nursing home administrators licensing law was enacted in 1970, and Chapters 135E and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Optometry Examiners

Keith Rankin, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-

JAMES W. HARTZELL, O.D., chair, Des Moines; term expires 1991

RUTH MC ANDREWS, O.D., vice-chair, Davenport; term expires 1991

MERLE KJONAAS, O.D., secretary, Iowa City; term expires 1990

LARRY D. BREWER, O.D., continuing education secretary, Charles City; term expires 1992

JOHN A. GAZAWAY, O.D., Eagle Grove; term expires 1990

ANN M. LOHMAN, Denison; term expires 1992

COLLEEN M. REILLY, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 565 optometrists, is composed of five licensed optometrists and two public members. The optometry licensing law was enacted in 1909, and Chapters 147, 154, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Physical and Occupational Therapy Examiners

Keith Rankin, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319, 515-

LOIS G. CAMPBELL, secretary, Des Moines, term expires 1990 ROBERT E. ANDERSON, Grinnell; term expires 1991 STEVEN R. CLARK, L.P.T., Storm Lake; term expires 1990

KEN C. LEO, North Liberty, 1992

KAREN K. RANKIN, Vinton, 1992 MARTHA H. THIEN, O.T.R./L., Des Moines; term expires 1990 JOHN B. WADSWORTH, L.P.T., Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 1,118 therapists, is composed of three licensed physical therapists, two licensed occupational therapists,