Social Work Examiners

Keith Rankin, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4401

JUDITH KAYE RINEHART, chair, Bondurant; term expires 1992 BRUCE D. BUCHANAN, Des Moines, term expires 1990 VIRGINIA J. POFFENBERGER, secretary, Perry; term expires 1991 ALYCE ANN CLASEN, Council Bluffs; term expires 1992 FRANCIS M. HELLERT, Dubuque; term expires 1990

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 138 social workers, is composed of three social workers and two public members. The social worker licensing law was enacted in 1984, and Chapters 147 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

## Dietetic Examiners

Keith Rankin, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4401

MARY JANE OAKLAND, R.D./L.D., Ph.D., chair, Ames; term expires 1992

JILL M. GIFT, secretary, Council Bluffs; term expires 1991

CHARLES H. FINCH, Chariton; term expires 1991

RICHARD GARRELS, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 1991

JEANNETTE L. MILLER, Ft. Dodge; term expires 1990

The board, responsible for the licensing of dietitians, is composed of three dietitians and two public members. The dietitian licensing law was enacted in 1985, and Chapters 147, 152A, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Respiratory Care Advisory Committee

Grace West, administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-4422

EARL L. HOWARD, chair, Bloomfield; term expires 1992

GREG A. HICKLIN, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1990 JOAN M. TREIVIELER, Dubuque; term expires 1990 STEVEN R. WANZEK, M.D., Ames; term expires 1991

NANCY WELTER, Cedar Rapids, term expires 1991

The advisory committee, responsible for providing advice regarding approval of continuing education programs and drafting of rules, consists of two licensed physicians, two respiratory care practitioners, and one public member. The respiratory care law was enacted in 1985, and Chapter 135F is the principal law governing the committee.

## Dental Examiners, Board Of

Constance L. Price, executive director; 1209 E. Court, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-

CARMEN S. MILLER, D.D.S., vice-chair, Des Moines; term expires 1990

MARILYN MAY, secretary, Des Moines; term expires 1990 PAMELA E. DEMOSS, R.D.H., Hampton; term expires 1990 PAMELA G. KAPPLE, D.D.S., Sigourney; term expires 1992

CAROLYN A. MC NEILL, Perry; term expires 1991 JERRY C. PRAHL, D.D.S., Sioux City, term expires 1992

JAMES A. RAECKER, D.D.S., Waterloo, term expires 1992 VICTORIA L. RESCHLY, R.D.H., Davenport; term expires 1991

MYRON L. ZEIGLER, D.D.S., Spirit Lake; term expires 1991

The Board of Dental Examiners was created in 1882 and consists of nine members: five dentists, two dental hygienists, and two representatives of the general public. The members are appointed by the governor with confirmation by the Senate for staggered three-year terms.

The board has as its primary responsibility the promotion and safeguarding of dental health of the citizens of Iowa through its enforcement of the Dental Practice

Act and related rules and regulations.

The board conducts examinations yearly for licensure to practice dentistry and dental hygiene. The board determines eligibility of dentists and dental hygienists for licensure by credentials. The board also issues resident permits to qualified dentists practicing as a resident, intern, or graduate dentist at the Univesity of Iowa College of Dentistry and issues faculty permits to qualified dentists and dental hygienists