Certificate of Need

Health Facilities Council members are appointed by the governor.

EDWARD NICHOLS, West Des Moines, term expires 2005; JOAN KOENIGS, St. Ansgar, term expires 2005; KATHLEEN E. KREGEL, Fort Dodge; term expires 2001; JOSEPH B. RYAN JR., West Des Moines; term expires 2003; HARRY RASDAL, Spencer; term expires 2001:

Chronic Renal Disease Advisory Committee

Members are appointed by the director of public health.

JEAN SHELTON, Des Moines; term expires 2002; JODI VALENTI, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2001; DR. THOMAS BAINBRIDGE, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 2003; STEPHANIE BOEHMER, Waterloo; term expires 2000; ROBERT COUCH, Davenport; term expires 2002; KIMBERLEE CROSS, Des Moines; term expires 2002; GLENN FARRAND, Des Moines; term expires 2002; ELIZABETH GILDEA, Des Moines; term expires 2003; VACANT; DR. JOHN OLDS, Des Moines; term expires 2000; GARY PETERSEN, Denison; term expires 2000; DEANNA STALLMAN, RN, MS, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2000; LISA TAYLOR, Kansas City, MO; term expires 2001

Professional Licensure

Boards of health-related examiners, appointed by the governor, are administratively placed in the Professional Licensure division. The following boards receive administrative support from the Professional Licensure Division.

Athletic Trainers Advisory Board - Roxanne Sparks, board administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-6346

ALAN J. BESTE, chair, Boone; term expires 2001; TIMOTHY GIBBONS, Mason City; term expires 2000; JILL MEILAHN D.O., Ames; term expires 2002; MARGARET SUSAN CIGELMAN, Urbandale; term expires 2000; DANNY T. FOSTER, A.T., Iowa City; term expires 2001; DENISE A. HARKLAU, A.T., secretary, Ames; term expires 2001; DR. MARY L. KHOWASSAH, M.D., Iowa City; term expires 2002

The board, responsible for the licensing of athletic trainers, is composed of three licensed athletic trainers, three licensed physicians, and one public member.

Barber Examiners - Roxanne Sparks, board administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, IA 50319; 515/281-6346

DENNIS RUFFCORN, chair, Missouri Valley; term expires 2000; ALAN L. THOMPSON, vice chair, Ames; term expires 2001; RAYMOND D. BARKER, Des Moines; term expires 2002; PEGGY C. DUNSHEE, Urbandale; term expires 2000; VACANT

The board responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 2,200 barbers and 1,200 establishments, is composed of three licensed barbers and two public members. The barber licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 158 and 272C are the principal laws governing the board.

Behavioral Science Examiners - Judy Manning, board administrator; Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4413

MILDRED SEHNEKLOTH, Eldridge; term expires 2001; LINDA TRUDEAU, vice chair, Carroll; term expires 2001; DOROTHY ANDERSON, Des Moines; term expires 2000; REBECCA S. BEACH, Des Moines; term expires 2002; THORALD (TED) DAVIDSON, Des Moines; term expires 2000; MARTIN R. EDWARDS, Ph.D., Cedar Falls; term expires 2000; JACK HILLYARD, Windsor Heights; term expires 2002; DAVID PETERSON, Iowa City; term expires 2002; STANTON L. VISSER, Rock Valley; term expires 2001

The board, responsible for licensing of marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors, is composed of three marriage and family therapists, three mental health counselors, and three public members. The behavioral sciences licensing law was enacted in 1991, and Chapters 147, 154D and 272C are the principal laws governing the board.