# Advisory Council

## The Construction of Mental Health Centers

Members are appointed by the Commissioner of Public Health. They are: Nicholas Grunzweig, Des Moines; Drexel Lange, Des Moines; Herbert L. Nelson, M.D., Iowa City; Vera French, M.D., Davenport; Floyd Dunn, D.O., Knoxville; James Campbell, Decorah; Mrs. Jean McMurray, Webster City; Mrs. Max W. Lyon, Clinton.

### Division of Records and Statistics

CARSON WHITLOW, M.S.P.H., Chief.

The Division of Records and Statistics is required by law to carry out Chapter 144 of the Code of the State of Iowa (Vital Statistics Act), which requires general supervision of the registration of vital statistics, registrars and clerks of the district court in the enforcement of the laws relative to vital statistics.

### Division of Disease Prevention

RUSSELL W. CORRIER, D.V.M., M.P.H., Chief.

The Division of Disease Prevention is charged with determining the frequency with which 45 specific infectious diseases occur within Iowa's population and reducing the risk and costs of these diseases to the public. The division provides advice and assistance to local communities pertaining to the incidence and control of other communicable diseases. It is concerned with achieving the eventual eradication of tuberculosis and with decreasing and controlling venereal diseases in Iowa. It also strives to reduce the incidence of human cases of disease acquired from animals and administers the state law on dogs for scientific research.

#### Division on Alcoholism

JEFF VOSKANS, Director.

The Division on Alcoholism, which is responsible to its nine-member Commission on Alcoholism, is designated with the planning and implementing of programs relating to alcoholism and alcohol abuse. The purpose of this division is to provide a comprehensive program for the treatment, education and rehabilitation of alcoholics in Iowa.

Members are appointed by the Governor. They are: Judge Louis F. Fautsch, Dubuque; Frank Harrison, Des Moines; Frank Delaney, Burlington; Rev. Robert Ruleman, Red Oak; Mrs. Rosemary Sackett, Spencer; Sutherland Cook, Cedar Rapids; Mrs. Ruth Anderson, Waterloo; Dr. William McCabe, Bettendorf.

# Boards of Examiners

Appointed by the Governor. The Iowa State Department of Health provides administrative support and a large variety of services to all the boards through the Licensing and Certification Section, a unit within the Office of External Affairs.

Barber Examiners — Carol A. Brown, Des Moines; Patricia E. Cornick, Des Moines; Harold L. Erichsen, Sioux City; Richard E. Sisco, Cedar Rapids; Alfred D. Wilson, Des Moines.

Chiropractic Examiners — Mary Xavier Coens (Sister), Dubuque; Larry Lindemann, D.C., Jewell; Glen Dean Madsen, West Des Moines; Larry E. Phipps, D.C., Grinnell; Carol H. Schaefer (Mr.), Davenport; Gretchen N. Schreffler, D.C., Iowa City; Anthony Paul Untz, D.C., Dyersville.

Cosmetology Examiners — Marian Lokken (Mrs.), Ames; Helen Mefferd (Mrs.), Laurens; Carole Tracy, Dubuque; Nancy E. Welter (Mrs.), Cedar Rapids.

Dental Examiners — Wayne J. Barnes, D.D.S., Sioux City; Clarence R. Hosford, D.D.S., Monticello; Robert L. Moore, D.D.S., Hampton; Connie Price, Des Moines; Jean A. Tester, Iowa City; Carolyn Tufty, D.H., Cedar Rapids; Thomas A. Underkofler, D.D.S., Marshalltown; Marcia L. Wiedmeyer, D.H., Des Moines; David L. Wolf, D.D.S., Cedar Rapids.

Funeral Directors and Embalmers Examiners — Donna Gabriel, Clinton; Robert McKone, Carroll; Gary L. Sliefert, Storm Lake; Maurice J. Tierney, Dubuque; Dwight K. Wagler, Griswold.