Robert E. Roberts, West Des Moines, Continuing; Mrs. William Stillman, Emmetsburg; Mrs. Bernice Wolf, Mason City, Continuing.

## Advisory Council for the construction of Mental Health Centers

Members are appointed by the Commissioner of Public Health.

Nichotas Grunzweig, Des Moines; Drexel Lange, Des Moines; Herbert L. Nelson, M.D., Iowa City; Vera French, M.D., Davenport; Floyd Dunn, D.O., Knoxville; James Campbell, Decorah; Mrs. Jean McMurray, Webster City; Mrs. Max W. Lyon, Clinton; Joseph L. Tate, Des Moines.

#### Division of Records and Statistics - Carson Whitlow, M.S.P.H. in Biostatistics, Chief

The Division of Records and Statistics is required by law to carry out Chapter 144 of the Code of the State of Iowa (Vital Statistics Act), which requires general supervision of the registration of vital statistics, registrars and clerks of the district court in the enforcement of the laws relative to vital statistics.

#### Division of Disease Prevention - Stanley M. Hendricks, D.V.M., MPH, Chief

The Division of Disease Prevention is charged with determining the frequency with which 45 specific infectious diseases occur within Iowa's population, evaluating the significance of such morbidity and developing, executing and evaluating policies and programs to reduce the risk and costs of these diseases to the public.

#### Division on Alcoholism - Jeff Voskans, Director

This is a new division created by an Act of the 65th General Assembly to comply with Chapter 1131. This Act consolidated two previously independent authorities into a new division with a commission. The Act mandates the commission to develop a comprehensive program for the treatment, rehabilitation and education of alcoholics in Iowa. The Commission members are as follows:

Judge Louis F. Fautsch, Dubuque; Frank Harrison, Des Moines; Frank Delaney, Burlington; Rev. Robert Ruleman, Red Oak; Mrs. Rosemary Sackett, Spencer; John Mackey, Sioux City; Sutherland Cook, Cedar Rapids; Mrs. Ruth Anderson, Waterloo; Dr. William McCabe, Bettendorf.

### **Boards of Examiners**

Appointed by the Governor. The State Department of Health provides administrative support and a large variety of services to all the boards through the Licensing and Certification Section, a unit within the Office of External Affairs.

Barber Examiners — Leslie W. Jones, Burlington; Alfred D. Wilson, Des Moines; Harold L. Erichsen, Sioux City.

Chiropractic Examiners — Anthony P. Untz, Dyersville; E. C. Vorland, Cedar Falls; Gerald Whitten, D.C., Des Moines.

Cosmetology Examiners - Marian L. Lokken, Ames; Carole Tracy, Dubuque;

- Dental Examiners --- Robert L. Moore, Hampton; A. Miles Olson, D.D.S., Laurens; William A. Miller, D.D.S., Des Moines; Harold W. Sidwell, D.D.S., Vilisca; David L. Wolf, D.D.S., Cedar Rapids.
- Funeral Directors and Embalmers Examiners George F. Murdoch, Marion; Maurice J. Tierney, Dubuque; Dwight K. Wagler, Griswold.
- Hearing Aid Dealers Ed Chamberlain, Clear Lake; Jack L. Jennings, Sioux City; Phyllis Larson, Davenport; Public members of this board include — Margaret (Peg) Bachr, Spencer; Clifford Welcher, Greenfield.
- Medical Examiners Roger B. Anderson, D.O., Davenport; John W. Billingsley, M.D., Newton; Kenneth R. Carrell, D.O., Columbus Junction; Howard G. Ellis, M.D., Des

Moines; Kenneth E. Lister, M.D., Ottumwa; John K. MacGregor, M.D., Mason City; Frank R. Peterson, M.D., Cedar Rapids; John M. Rhoades, M.D., Pocahontas.

- Nursing Home Administrators Examiners Rev. Arlin H. Adams, Waukon; Robert V. Campbell, Oskaloosa; Daniel L. Kelley, Maquoketa; Felicial Hope, Iowa City; Lois Nadine Lindsay, Lake City; Eloise I. Shaffer, Centerville; Ezra William Shenk, Wellman; J. D. Shepherd, Newton.
- Optometry Examiners C. E. Nichols, O.D., Clarinda; Kenneth O. McMaster, O.D., Oelwein; Harold Ray Wilson, O.D., Forest City.
- Physical Therapy Examiners Joyce Johnson, L.P.T., Decorah; Nancy G. Thompson, L.P.T., Des Moines; William R. Whitmore, M.D., Davenport; Warren J. Rogers, Cedar Rapids.
- Podiatry Examiners Russell R. Schivley, Fort Madison; Jack L. Jennings, Sioux City; Paul A. Johns, Jr., DPM, Des Moines; Dr. R. N. Lepird, Estherville.
- Board of Nursing Barbara Steen, R.N., Waterloo.

Psychology Examiners — Yet to be appointed.

# **Iowa State Historical Department**

# Division of Historical Museum and Archives

East 12th and Grand Ave., Des Moines

JACK MUSGROVE, Director.

The State Historical, Memorial and Art Department was organized in 1892 by Charles Aldrich. The State Historical Building was erected in 1898, with an addition to present size in 1908.

The department was reorganized in 1939 as the Iowa State Department of History and Archives. July 1, 1974, the department became one of three divisions of the Iowa State Historical Department, a state agency created by the 65th General Assembly with the name being changed to Division of Historical Museum and Archives. The director is selected by the State Historical Board. Under this reorganization plan the department encompasses six divisions, each functioning to preserve the history of Iowa.

The Archives Division has under its jurisdiction all records of state transactions, legal legislative and administrative papers. These now total over 50 million pieces of information and are constantly on the increase. However, every item is catalogued and is readily retrieved if the occasion arises. The State Archives division was moved into larger quarters in the Harvester Building, Seventh and Court Avenue, and already storage space is at a premium.

ANNALS OF IOWA is concerned with the quarterly publication of factual written matter pertinent to Iowa History. This division was founded over 112 years ago and has served well to preserve and publish items of historical value.

The Census Division is used to establish records of birth and genealogy and in many cases can provide the only records of birth and residence available to some citizens. The census records date back more than 125 years and are a very valuable source of historical information to genealogists and researchers.

The Historical Library contains a wealth of historical materials in the form of grave records, county histories, genealogical reference books and history books pertaining to Iowa and its growth. This library collection consists of over 60,000 volumes and is considered to be the best source of historical and genealogical information in the Midwest. In addition, the manuscripts and papers of famous Iowans are catalogued and housed in the Historical Library.

The Newspaper Division also plays an important part in preserving history as it is written day by day. Daily and weekly papers from each of the 99 counties in Iowa are received, catalogued, and microfilmed. They then become part of the most complete newspaper collection in the Midwest. These publications provide an invaluable source of on-the-spot history to researchers and cover the development of Iowa from the earliest times.

The Museum Division provides the Iowans and visitors a comprehensive look at the