Barber Examiners

Keith Rankin, board administrator: 515-281-4408

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 2,200 barbers and 1,200 establishments, is composed of three licensed barbers and two public members. The barber licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 158 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: AlC. Maiers, Dubuque; Carroll Anderson, Waterloo; Mark Stansberry, Sioux City: Donna Weiss, Dow City: and Karen Voecks, West Des Moines.

Cosmetology Examiners

Grace West, board administrator; 515-281-4424

The board, responsible for the licensing and inspection of approximately 20,000 cosmetologists and 5,000 establishments, is composed of three licensed cosmetologists and two public members. The cosmetology licensing law was enacted in 1927, and Chapters 147, 157 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Maxine Cochran, Oskaloosa; James O'Neall, Pocahontas; JoAnn Pals, Mason City; Betty Schindler, Williamsburg; Margaret A. Turk, Creston.

Chiropractic Examiners

Harriet Miller, board administrator: 515-281-4416

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 1,100 chiropractors, is composed of five licensed chiropractors and two public members. The chiropractic licensing law was enacted in 1921, and Chapters 147, 151 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Shirley A. Shaefer, Davenport; Kenneth L. Mueller, D.C., Harlan; Donald J. Maylor, D.C., LeMars; Martha L. Leibhart, Albia; Carl H. Lundahl, Indianola; Kenneth Pride, Humboldt; Milton F. Schlein, D.C., Postville.

The following boards receive administrative support from the Professional Licensure division: 515-281-4401.

Hearing Aid Dealers Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 237 hearing aid dealers, is composed of three licensed as hearing aid dealers and two public members. The hearing aid dealers licensing law was enacted in 1974, and Chapters 147, 154A and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Joseph C. Huibsch, Iowa Falls; Robert S. Klopp, Cedar Rapids; Dorothy Luddington, Des Moines; Ann Schultz, Mason City; Mary Smith, Onawa.

Mortuary Science Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 860 funeral directors and embalmers, is composed of three licensed funeral directors and two public members. The mortuary science licensing law was enacted in 1907, and Chapters 147, 156 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Alvin Bremer, Mason City; Cornelia Joy, Adel; Eugene Siegert, Dubuque; Calvin Van Arkel, Oskaloosa; Jan S. Miller, Des Moines.

Nursing Home Administrators Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 619 nursing home administrators, is composed of four licensed nursing home administrators, three persons licensed in other professions involved with the treatment of the chronically ill or elderly, and two public members. The nursing home administrators licensing law was enacted in 1970, and Chapters 135E and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Lester Beachy, M.D., Des Moines; Murray Berggren, Buffalo Center; Phyllis Crouse, Ames; Marcia Dudden, Reinbeck; Rosalie Cahill, West Branch; Donna Robinson, Des Moines; Alexa Mayner, Independence; James Tweeten, Lake Mills; Donna Venteicher, Fort Madison.

Optometry Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 565 optometrists, is composed of five licensed optometrists and two public members. The optometry licensing

law was enacted in 1909, and Chapters 147, 154 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Larry Brewer, O.D., Charles City; John Gazaway, O.D., Eagle Grove; James W. Hartzell, O.D., Des Moines; Rex Hinson, O.D., Marhsalltown; Ann M. Lowman, Denison; Edward D. Winger, Des Moines; Robert B. Tuberty, O.D., Mt. Vernon.

Physical and Occupational Therapy Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 1,118 therapists, is composed of three licensed physical therapists, two licensed occupational therapists and two public members. The physical therapy law was enacted in 1965, and the occupational therapy law was enacted in 1981. Chapters 147, 148A and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Lois Campbell, Des Moines; Mary Greenleaf, Shenandoah; Dorothy Main, O.T., Waterloo; Carol Meind, O.T., Creston; Carol Morris, L.P.T., Story City; Marcia Olsen-Teager, L.P.T., Mt. Pleasant.

Podiatry Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 148 podiatrists, is composed of three licensed podiatrists and two public members. The podiatry licensing law was enacted in 1921, and Chapters 147, 149 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Margaret A. Harden, Perry; James Heddens, D.P.M., Marshalltown; Marjorie Rodgers, Indianola; Edward N. Wiltgen, D.P.M., Sioux City; Terry K. Lichty, D.P.M., Waterloo.

Psychology Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 389 and 139 health service providers in psychology, is composed of five licensed psychologists and two public members. The psychology licensing law was enacted in 1975, and Chapters 147, 154B and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Darlene Blake, Des Moines; Darrel Dierks, M.S., Cedar Falls; Gratia Gilbert, Ed.D., Sioux City; Joan Grant, Boone; Phyllis S. Hansell, Ed.D., Des Moines; Gerald Jorgensen, Ph.D., Dubuque; Abagail Sivan, Ph.D., Iowa City

Speech Pathology and Audiology Examiners

The board, responsible for licensing of approximately 427 speech pathologists and audiologists, is composed of five licensed speech pathologists or audiologists and two public members. The speech pathologists and audiologists licensing law was enacted in 1976, and Chapters 147 and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Jacqueline F. Bryant, Cedar Rapids; Sherry Carter, Bellevue; Sue Ann Hillman, Des Moines; Janet S. Irwin, Solon; Phyllis L. Kelly, Charles City; Kathy Kerst, Des Moines; Edwina Kopal, Mason City.

Social Work Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of approximately 138 social workers, is composed of three social workers and two public members. The social worker licensing law was enacted in 1984, and Chapters 147 and 258A are the principal laws governing the hoard.

Board Members: Alyce Clasen, Council Bluffs; Francis Hellert, Dubuque; Leonard Larsen, Urbandale; Virginia Poffenberger, Perry; Judith Rinehart, Bondurant.

Dietetic Examiners

The board, responsible for the licensing of dietitians, is composed of three dietitians and two public members. The dietitian licensing law was enacted in 1985, and Chapters 147, 152A, and 258A are the principal laws governing the board.

Board Members: Connie J. Freese, Waverly; Jill M. Gift, Council Bluffs; Phyllis L. Henderson, Des Moines; Jeanette L. Miller, Fort Dodge; Mary Jane Oakland, Ames.

Respiratory Care Advisory Committee

The advisory committee, responsible for providing advice regarding approval of continuing education programs and drafting of rules, consists of two licensed physicians,