#### Ex officio, nonvoting member:

The Iowa Lottery Authority operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model.

Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[l]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The Iowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.81, 256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515)242-3100

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager Serves at Pleasure of Board

Name	City	Term Ending
Robert Hall, President	Harlan	June 30, 2010
Bettie Bolar	Marshalltown	June 30, 2011
Betty Jean Furgerson	Waterloo	June 30, 2012
N. Brian Gentry	Des Moines	June 30, 2012
Michele Guinn	Des Moines	June 30, 2011
John V. Hartung	Indianola	June 30, 2010
Susan McDermott	Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2012
Brent Siegrist	Council Bluffs	June 30, 2010
Bill Withers	Waverly	June 30, 2011

Iowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the State Association of Private Colleges and Universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the State Board of Regents, and one appointed by the State Board of Education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-DT Channel 11 in Des Moines; KBIN-DT Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-DT Channel 36 in Red Oak; KIIN-DT Channel 12 in Iowa City; KQIN-DT Channel 36 in Davenport; KRIN-DT Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-DT Channel 27 in Sioux City; KTIN-DT Channel 21 in Fort Dodge; KYIN-DT Channel 24 in Mason City; and translators Channel 18 in Ottumwa, Channel 28 in Fort Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 16 in Decorah, and Channel 49 in Lansing.

#### EDUCATION TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL

## §8D.5

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515)242-4180

Name	Туре
Greg Davis, designee of Iowa Association of School Boards, Chair	Statutory
James Bodensteiner, designee of Board of Regents	Statutory
Kenneth Colwell, designee of Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities	Statutory
Mary Gannon, designee of Iowa Association of School Boards	Statutory
Glenn Grove, designee of Area Education Agency Boards	Statutory
Ellen Kabat Lensch, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees	Statutory
Tom Kruse, designee of Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities	Statutory
Sally Lindgren, designee of Area Education Agency Boards	Statutory
Carol Montz, designee of School Administrators of Iowa	Statutory
Kathryn O'Shaughnessy, designee of Iowa State Education Association	Statutory
Terry Rinehart, designee of Iowa Public Television	Statutory
Kay K. Runge, designee of Department of Education/Libraries	Statutory
Chet Rzonca, designee of Board of Regents	Statutory
Gail Sullivan, designee of Department of Education	Statutory
Jean Torgeson, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees	Statutory
Mary Wieser, designee of Department of Education/CIANS	Statutory
Frank Wood, designee of School Administrators of Iowa	Statutory

# IOWA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM (IPERS)

Ch 97B

7401 Register Drive, P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306-9117; (515)281-0020; www.ipers.org

	Term Ending
Donna Mueller, Chief Executive Officer	April 30, 2012

The Iowa Public Employees' Retirement System (IPERS) and the IPERS Trust Fund are established in Iowa Code chapter 97B. IPERS was created in 1953 to replace the Iowa Old-Age and Survivors' Insurance System. IPERS is intended to provide public employees a core pension that is complemented by social security benefits and personal savings. A defined benefit plan, IPERS provides lifetime benefits determined by a member's years of service, high three-year average covered wage, and a formula multiplier. Members must complete four or more years of service or turn age 55 while contributing to IPERS to qualify for a lifetime benefit.

IPERS is an independent agency within the executive branch of state government. The General Assembly and the Governor, as creators of the plan, are the plan sponsors and determine who is covered by the plan, the benefits offered, and how the plan is funded. Public employees contribute during their working career for their own future retirements. Benefits are funded entirely by contributions from employees and their employers, and investment earnings.

# INVESTMENT BOARD OF THE IOWA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM

§97B.8A 7401 Register Drive, P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306-9117; (515)281-0030

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
David Creighton Sr., Chair	Clive	April 30, 2015
Michael Beary	Lovilia	April 30, 2013