### IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY

§12.30; Ch 99G

2323 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515)725-7900; www.ialottery.com

		Term Ending Date	
Edward J. Stanek II, Chief Ex	April 30, 2008		
		Term Ending Date/	
Name	City	Type of Appointment	
Elaine Baxter, Chair	Burlington	April 30, 2007	
William Brosnahan	Dubuque	April 30, 2006	
Timothy Clausen	Sioux City	April 30, 2008	
Mary Junge	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2006	
	Des Moines		
Ex officio, nonvoting member:			
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer	Statutory		

On July 1, 2003, the lowa Lottery Division of the lowa Department of Revenue and Finance was eliminated and replaced with the lowa Lottery Authority, a public enterprise based on a business model.

The legislation creating the change provided some key phrases of purpose and intent for the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the Iowa General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[I]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The lowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450. Johnston 50131; (515)242-3100; www.iptv.org

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager .... Serves at Pleasure of Board

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Betty Jean Furgerson, President	. Waterloo	June 30, 2006
Robert Hall, Vice President	. Harlan	June 30, 2007
Michele Guinn	Des Moines	June 30, 2008
John V. Hartung	Indianola	June 30, 2007
Susan McDermott	Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2006
Mary Jean Montgomery	. Spencer	June 30, 2006
Michael C. Morrison	Mason City	June 30, 2008
Grant L. Price	. Waterloo	June 30, 2008
Albert Wood	Estherville	June 30, 2007

Iowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged

area schools, one appointed by the State Association of Private Colleges and Universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the State Board of Regents, and one appointed by the State Board of Education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services, including narrowcast and broadcast systems to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV Channel 11 and KDIN-DT Channel 50 in Des Moines; KIIN-TV Channel 12 and KIIN-DT Channel 45 in Iowa City; KRIN-TV Channel 32 and KRIN-DT Channel 35 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV Channel 27 and KSIN-DT Channel 28 in Sioux City; KBIN-TV Channel 32 and KBIN-DT Channel 33 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV Channel 36 and KHIN-DT Channel 35 in Red Oak; KYIN-TV Channel 24 in Mason City; KTIN-TV Channel 21 and KTIN-DT Channel 25 in Fort Dodge; KQIN-TV Channel 36 in Davenport; and translators Channel 33 in Ottumwa, Channel 38 in Fort Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.

#### **EDUCATION TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL**

# §8D.5 IPTV, 6450 Corporate Drive, Johnston 50131; (515)242-4180

Gail Sullivan, Chair, designee	Department of Education
	Iowa State Education Association
James Bodensteiner, designee	Board of Regents
Paul Bowers, designee	Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
Dean Cook, designee	School Administrators of Iowa
Merv Cronbaugh, designee	lowa Association of Community College Trustees
Greg Davis, designee	Iowa Association of School Boards
Tim Dose, designee	School Administrators of Iowa
	lowa Association of School Boards
	Area education agency boards
John V. Hartung, designee	Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
Ellen Kabat Lensch, designee	lowa Association of Community College Trustees
David Montgomery, designee	Department of Education
Kathryn O'Shaughnessy, designee	Iowa State Education Association
Terry Rinchart, designee	Iowa Public Television
Kay K. Runge, designee	Department of Education
Chet Rzonca, designee	Board of Regents
Mary Travillian, designee	Area education agency boards

# IOWA PUBLIC EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM (IPERS)

Ch 97B

7401 Register Drive, P.O. Box 9117, Des Moines 50306-9117; (515)281-0020; www.ipers.org

IPERS and the IPERS Trust Fund are established in Iowa Code chapter 97B. IPERS was created in 1953 to replace the Iowa Old-Age and Survivors' Insurance System. As a defined benefit plan, IPERS is intended to provide public employees a core pension that is complemented by social security benefits and personal savings. IPERS benefits are based on a member's years of service, high three-year average covered wage, and a formula multiplier. Four or more years of