Public Broadcasting Board, lowa

George Carpenter, executive director; P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131; 515/242-3100

BETTY JEAN FURGERSON, president, Waterloo; term expires 1991

MARGARET WICK, vice-president, Sioux City, term expires 1992
JOHN T. BLONG, Eldridge; term expires 1993
KATHRYNE CUTLER, Council Bluffs, term expires 1993
ROBERT HARTER, Des Moines; term expires 1993
BONNIE MCCOY, Mason City; term expires 1991
DIANNE L.D. PACA, Garner; term expires 1991
RICHARD S. WHITE; Des Moines; term expires 1992
ALBERT N. WOOD, Estherviller term expires 1992

ALBERT N. WOOD, Estherville; term expires 1992

Chapter 211 (Senate File 162) of the Acts, 1987 Regular Session creates a board to be known as the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the state association of private colleges and universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the state board of regents, and one appointed by the state board of education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services including narrowcast and

broadcast systems to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV, Channel 11 in Des Moines; KIIN-TV, Channel 12 in Iowa City; KRIN-TV, Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV, Channel 27 in Sioux City; KBIN-TV, Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV, Channel 36 in Red Oak; KYIN-TV, Channel 24 in Mason City; KTIN-TV, Channel 21 in Ft. Dodge; and translators Channel 33 in Ottumwa, Channel 38 in Ft. Madison, Channel 21 in Ft. 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.

State Library Division

Shirley George, state librarian; State Library, E. 12th and Grand, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-4105

State Library Commission of Iowa PHYLLIS GOLDBERG, chair, Shenandoah; term expires 1991

NOREEN COYAN, Mason City; term expires 1993 TED HEALEY, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1991

WILLIAM O'BRIEN, Des Moines; Supreme Court administrator

GEORGE OTTE, Davenport; term expires 1993

MARY H. STUART, M.D., Des Moines; term expires 1991

ED ZASTROW, Iowa City; term expires 1991

The State Library of Iowa was established in 1838 when Iowa was designated a U.S. territory. Today, the State Library promotes statewide library services through an effective information network and coordinates resource sharing and multitype library cooperation. The State Library also provides information to state government, the state's legal and medical communities, and citizens of Iowa.

Information Services

To meet the expanding informational needs of Iowa's state government, the State Library provides both general and specialized legal services to all state government agencies to the people of Iowa. Reference service is supported by collections in a variety of formats and by access to a number of electronic data bases.

State Law Library

The State Law Library, located in the Iowa Statehouse, was established to provide Iowa lawmakers, government employees, the Iowa legal community, and the general public with a highly specialized legal collection. The Law Library contains nearly 20,000 volumes including the laws and reports of all the states and some foreign countries; government documents; the abstracts and arguments of the Iowa Supreme Court and Court of Appeals; legal periodicals; legal treatises; and materials produced by the Iowa Legislature.

State Medical Library

Medical reference services are available in the State Library to Iowa's medical community and all citizens of the state. The medical library includes materials ranging from the history of medicine to current medical books and journals. Computerized literature searches are also available.

State Data Center

The State Data Center of Iowa collects and distributes information about Iowa's