## Terrace Hill Commission

Barbara Filer, administrator; Terrace Hill, 2300 Grand Ave., Des Moines 50312: 515-282-2804

JOHN R. FITZGIBBON, chair, Des Moines; term expires 1990 MAURICE BARINGER, Woodburn; term expires 1990 ROBERT T. BATES, Albia; term expires 1991 CHRISTINE BRANSTAD, Des Moines; term expires 1989

NANCY FRANZENBURG, Des Moines; term expires 1989 HARRIS HONSEY, Lake Mills; term expires 1990

RHODA MC CARTNEY, Charles City; term expires 1991

MADELYN PRIEBE, Algona; term expires 1989 ANN T. RICHARDS, Des Moines; term expires 1991

The 69th General Assembly created the Terrace Hill Authority (now the Terrace Hill Commission) in 1982. The commission consists of a governor's designee and eight persons appointed by the governor who are knowledgeable in business management, historic preservation, and renovation. The terms of the appointed members are three years beginning on July 1 and ending on June 30.

The Terrace Hill Commission is established to implement the intent of the original gift of Terrace Hill and the federal and state laws regarding historic preservation and public buildings. Terrace Hill was given to the state of Iowa by the Hubbell

family in 1981.

The Terrace Hill Commission maintains the entire Terrace Hill facility, including buildings and grounds, and continues the ongoing preservation and renovation of this historic site. They maintain Terrace Hill as a residence for the governor of Iowa and family and as a place for official state functions and entertaining. They oversee the conducting of public tours.

The Terrace Hill Commission may enter into contracts, subject to Chapter 18, to execute its purposes. The commission may consult with the Terrace Hill Society, Terrace Hill Foundation, the executive and legislative branches of this state and other persons interested in the property. Notwithstanding Section 303.1B, the commission may adopt rules to administer and implement their programs. The decision of the Terrace Hill Commission is final agency action under Chapter 17A.

## Public Broadcasting Board, Iowa

George Carpenter, executive director; P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131; 515-281-4500 BETTY JEAN FURGERSON, president, Waterloo; term expires 1990 KAREN GOODENOW, vice-president, Spirit Lake; term expires 1991 JOHN T. BLONG, Eldridge; term expires 1990 CHARLES DUCHEN, Des Moines; term expires 1991 ZOE GRITZNER, Des Moines; term expires 1991 ROBERT HARTER, Des Moines; term expires 1990 RICHARD S. WHITE; Des Moines; term expires 1989 SR. MARGARET WICK, Sioux City; term expires 1989 ALBERT N. WOOD, Estherville: term expires 1989

Chapter 211 (Senate File 162) of the Acts, 1987 Regular Session creates a board to be known as the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the governor, one appointed by the state association of private colleges and universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the state board of regents, and one appointed by the state board of education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services including narrowcast and

broadcast systems to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV, Channel 11 in Des Moines; KIIN-TV, Channel 12 in Iowa City; KRIN-TV, Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV, Channel 27 in Sioux City; KBIN-TV, Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV, Channel 36 in Red Oak; KYIN-TV, Channel 24 in Mason City; KTIN-TV, Channel 21 in Ft. Dodge; and translators Channel 33 in Ottumwa, Channel 38 in Ft. Madison, Channel 44 in Wesland, Channel 54 in Ft. Badison, Channel 55 in Ft. Badison, Channel 56 in Ft. Badison, Channel 56 in Ft. Badison, Channel 57 in Ft. Badison, Channel 58 in Ft. Madison, Channel 58 in Ft. Mad 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.