Payments are made as work progresses and cease upon the DNR's classification as "No Action Required." The board meets monthly to approve claim payments and handle other administrative matters affecting the program.

Owners of petroleum-contaminated property or former underground storage tank owners may contact the board to pursue any potential benefits available to them. Additionally, board statutes grant benefits to governmental subdivisions that acquire former UST sites pursuant to eminent domain. Counties are also eligible for benefits for properties they acquire through delinquent taxes.

The board works closely with the DNR to coordinate assessment and corrective action at eligible claimant sites. The DNR determines what must occur to reach "No Action Required" status, and the board determines what activities will be reimbursable. The board preapproves all costs prior to the commencement of the activities at an eligible site.

IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.81, 256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515) 242-3100

Molly M. Phillips, Executive Director and General Manager ... Serves at Pleasure of Board

| Name | City | Term Ending |
|---------------------------------|--------------|---------------|
| Gary Steinke, Interim President | Des Moines | June 30, 2016 |
| Betty Jean Furgerson, | | |
| President Emerita | Cedar Rapids | June 30, 2015 |
| Bettie Bolar | Marshalltown | June 30, 2014 |
| Charles Edwards | Des Moines | June 30, 2015 |
| Jason Giles | Urbandale | June 30, 2016 |
| Mary Kramer | Clive | June 30, 2015 |
| Brent Siegrist | | |
| Rose Vasquez | | |
| Bill Withers | | |

Iowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the community colleges, one appointed by the State Association of Private Colleges and Universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the State Board of Regents, and one appointed by the State Board of Education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-DT Channel 11 in Des Moines; KBIN-DT Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-DT Channel 36 in Red Oak; KIIN-DT Channel 12 in Iowa City; KQIN-DT Channel 36 in Davenport; KRIN-DT Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-DT Channel 27 in Sioux City; KTIN-DT Channel 21 in Fort Dodge; KYIN-DT Channel 24 in Mason City; and translators Channel 18 in Ottumwa, Channel 28 in Fort Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 24 in Keosauqua, Channel 43 in Rock Rapids, Channel 26 in Sibley, Channel 28 in Decorah, and Channel 39 in Lansing.

EDUCATION TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL

§8D.5

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515) 242-4180

| Name | Туре |
|---|-----------|
| Sally Lindgren, designee of Area Education Agency boards, Chair | Statutory |
| Kenneth Colwell, designee of Iowa Association of Independent | |
| Colleges and Universities | Statutory |
| Mary Gannon, designee of Iowa Association of School Boards | Statutory |
| Michael Healy, designee of School Administrators of Iowa | Statutory |

| Kent Johnson, designee of Board of Regents | Statutory |
|--|-----------|
| Ellen Kabat-Lensch, designee of Iowa Association of | - |
| Community College Trustees | Statutory |
| Tom Kruse, designee of Iowa Association of Independent | _ |
| Colleges and Universities | Statutory |
| Tamara Kuhn, designee of Iowa State Education Association | Statutory |
| Jan Lund, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees | Statutory |
| Carol Montz, designee of School Administrators of Iowa | Statutory |
| Lane Plugge, designee of Area Education Agency boards | Statutory |
| Randy Richardson, designee of Iowa State Education Association | Statutory |
| Terry Rinehart, designee of Iowa Public Television | Statutory |
| Kay K. Runge, designee of Department of Education/Libraries | Statutory |
| Chet Rzonca, designee of Board of Regents | Statutory |
| Gail Sullivan, designee of Department of Education | |
| Mary Wieser, designee of Department of Education/CIANS | Statutory |

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC DEFENSE

Ch 29; §29A.11, 29A.16

Camp Dodge, Johnston 50131-1824; (515) 252-4211; http://dpd.iowa.gov

| Timothy Orr, Director and Adjutant General | . Serves at Pleasure of Governor |
|--|----------------------------------|
| J. Derek Hill, Deputy Adjutant General, | |
| Air National Guard | Serves at Pleasure of Governor |
| (Vacant), Deputy Adjutant General, | |
| Army National Guard | . Serves at Pleasure of Governor |

Iowa Code chapter 29 establishes the Department of Public Defense. The Adjutant General is the Director of the Department of Public Defense and shall perform all functions, responsibilities, powers, and duties over the military forces of the state of Iowa as provided in the laws of the state.

The Department of Public Defense includes the Office of the Adjutant General and all functions, responsibilities, powers, and duties of the Adjutant General and the military forces of the state.

Iowa Code chapter 29A, the Military Code of Iowa, provides for the establishment, command, support, administration, and operation of the military forces of the state of Iowa, as promulgated by the U.S. Constitution and implementing federal statutes, the Iowa Constitution, and applicable federal policies and regulations.

The Iowa National Guard (Army and Air) constitutes the military forces of the state of Iowa except during such time as it may be in the active service of the United States. The Military Code of Iowa provides for the establishment of an "Iowa State Guard" during such time as the Iowa National Guard is in active federal service.

The state mission of the Iowa National Guard is to provide sufficient organizations of guard units in the state, so trained and equipped as to enable them to function efficiently at existing strength in the protection of life and property and the preservation of peace, order, and public safety, under competent orders of the state authorities.

The Governor is the commander in chief of the military forces, except when they are in federal status. The Governor may employ the military forces of the state for the defense or relief of the state; the enforcement of its laws; the protection of life and property; emergencies resulting from disasters or public disorders, as defined in Iowa Code section 29C.2; and parades and ceremonies of a civic nature.

The Adjutant General of Iowa is appointed by the Governor and, as chief of staff to the commander in chief, executes all orders. The Adjutant General is responsible for the administration, organization, equipment, and training of the military forces of the state in accordance with policies and directives of the Department of Public Defense as well as federal law and regulation.

The federal mission of the Army and Air National Guards of the United States is to provide units for the reserve components of the Army and Air Force, adequately organized, trained, and equipped and available for mobilization in the event of a national emergency or war, in accordance with the