## **IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY**

12.30; Ch 99G

2323 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515) 725-7900; www.ialottery.com

Terry Rich, Chief Executive Officer

Name	City	Term Ending/Type		
Deborah Burnight	Sioux City	April 30, 2015		
Mary Junge	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2014		
Michael Klappholz	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2014		
Herman Richter	Milford	April 30, 2015		
Brad Schroeder	Pleasant Hill	April 30, 2012		
Ex officio, nonvoting member				
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of St	ate	Statutory		

The Iowa Lottery Authority operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model.

Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[1]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The Iowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

§256.81, 256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515)242-3100

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager		Serves at Pleasure of Board
Name	City	Term Ending
Robert Hall, President	Harlan	June 30, 2013
Betty Jean Furgerson, President Emerita	Waterloo	June 30, 2012
Bettie Bolar	Marshalltown	June 30, 2014
Charles Edwards	Des Moines	June 30, 2012
Susan McDermott	Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2012
Brent Siegrist	Council Bluffs	June 30, 2013
Gary Steinke	Des Moines	June 30, 2013

Rose Vasquez	Des Moines	June 30, 2014
Bill Withers	Waverly	June 30, 2014

Iowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the State Association of Private Colleges and Universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the State Board of Regents, and one appointed by the State Board of Education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-DT Channel 11 in Des Moines; KBIN-DT Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-DT Channel 36 in Red Oak; KIIN-DT Channel 12 in Iowa City; KQIN-DT Channel 36 in Davenport; KRIN-DT Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-DT Channel 27 in Sioux City; KTIN-DT Channel 21 in Fort Dodge; KYIN-DT Channel 24 in Mason City; and translators Channel 18 in Ottumwa, Channel 28 in Fort Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 24 in Keosauqua, Channel 43 in Rock Rapids, Channel 26 in Sibley, Channel 28 in Decorah, and Channel 38 in Lansing.

## EDUCATION TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL

§8D.5

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515) 242-4180

Name	Туре
Kenneth Colwell, designee of Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, Chair	Statutory
Mary Gannon, designee of Iowa Association of School Boards	Statutory
Michael Healy, designee of School Administrators of Iowa	Statutory
Kent Johnson, designee of Board of Regents	Statutory
Ellen Kabat Lensch, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees	Statutory
Tom Kruse, designee of Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities	Statutory
Sally Lindgren, designee of area education agency boards	Statutory
Jan Lund, designee of Iowa Association of Community College Trustees	Statutory
Carol Montz, designee of School Administrators of Iowa	Statutory
Lane Plugge, designee of area education agency boards	Statutory
Terry Rinehart, designee of Iowa Public Television	Statutory
Kay K. Runge, designee of Department of Education/Libraries	Statutory
Chet Rzonca, designee of Board of Regents	Statutory
Gail Sullivan, designee of Department of Education	Statutory
Mary Wieser, designee of Department of Education/CIANS	Statutory