General Assembly assigned to the academy the responsibility of providing training to jailers of county jails and city holding facilities. Action by the General Assembly in 1996 placed with the academy the responsibility for providing training for telecommunicators.

All reserve peace officers in the state who are granted authority by their jurisdiction to carry weapons must first be certified to do so by application to and approval of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council. The academy develops training programs, approves regional training programs, establishes hiring standards for peace officers, and provides audiovisual resources to law enforcement training and educational institutions.

## **IOWA LOTTERY AUTHORITY**

§12.30; Ch 99G

2323 Grand Avenue, Des Moines 50312; (515)725-7900; www.ialottery.com

Kenneth Brickman, Acting Chief Executive Officer

|   |              | Term Ending Date/   |  |
|---|--------------|---------------------|--|
| Name                                      | City         | Type of Appointment |  |
| Timothy Clausen, Chair                    | Sioux City   |                     |  |
| Elaine Baxter                             | Burlington   | April 30, 2011      |  |
| Mary Junge                                | Cedar Rapids | April 30, 2010      |  |
| Michael Klappholz                         | Cedar Rapids | April 30, 2010      |  |
| Thomas Rial                               | Des Moines   | April 30, 2011      |  |
| Ex officio, nonvoting member:             |              |                     |  |
| Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State |              | Statutory           |  |

The lowa Lottery Authority operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model.

Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[l]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The lowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the lowa Lottery Board and the lottery chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approving all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.

## **IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD**

§256.81, 256.82

Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131-6450; (515)242-3100; www.iptv.org

Daniel K. Miller, Executive Director and General Manager .... Serves at Pleasure of Board

| Name                   | City       | Term Ending Date |
|------------------------|------------|------------------|
| Robert Hall, President | Harlan     | June 30, 2010    |
| Betty Jean Furgerson   | Waterloo   | June 30, 2009    |
| Michele Guinn          | Des Moines | June 30, 2008    |

| John V. Hartung      | Indianola      | June 30, 2010 |
|----------------------|----------------|---------------|
| Susan McDermott      | Cedar Rapids   | June 30, 2009 |
| Mary Jean Montgomery | Spencer        | June 30, 2009 |
|                      |                |               |
| Grant L. Price       | Waterloo       | June 30, 2008 |
| Brent Siegrist       | Council Bluffs | June 30, 2010 |

lowa Code section 256.82 creates the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the State Association of Private Colleges and Universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the State Board of Regents, and one appointed by the State Board of Education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV Channel 11 and KDIN-DT Channel 50 in Des Moines; KBIN-TV Channel 32 and KBIN-DT Channel 33 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV Channel 36 and KHIN-DT Channel 35 in Red Oak; KIIN-TV Channel 12 and KIIN-DT Channel 45 in Iowa City; KQIN-TV Channel 36 and KQIN-DT Channel 34 in Davenport; KRIN-TV Channel 32 and KRIN-DT Channel 35 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV Channel 27 and KSIN-DT Channel 28 in Sioux City; KTIN-TV Channel 21 and KTIN-DT Channel 25 in Fort Dodge; KYIN-TV Channel 24 and KYIN-DT Channel 18 in Mason City; and translators Channel 18 in Ottumwa, Channel 28 in Fort Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.

## EDUCATION TELECOMMUNICATIONS COUNCIL

§8D.5 Iowa Public Television, 6450 Corporate Drive, Johnston 50131; (515)242-4180

|                              | Board of Regents  |
|------------------------------|---|
| Al Bode, designee            | Iowa State Education Association                          |
| Ken Clipperton, designee     | Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities |
|                              | Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities |
| Dean Cook, designee          | School Administrators of Iowa                             |
| Greg Davis, designee         | Iowa Association of School Boards                         |
| Tim Dose, designee           | School Administrators of Iowa                             |
|                              | Iowa Association of School Boards                         |
| Glenn Grove, designee        | Area education agency boards                              |
| Ellen Kabat Lensch, designee | Iowa Association of Community College Trustees            |
|                              | Department of Education                                   |
|                              | Iowa State Education Association                          |
| Terry Rinehart, designee     | Iowa Public Television                                    |
| Kay K. Runge, designee       | Department of Education                                   |
|                              | Board of Regents  |
|                              | Department of Education                                   |
|                              | Iowa Assocation of Community College Trustees             |
| Mary Travillian, designee    | Area education agency boards                              |