## IOWA LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY

Gene W. Shepard, director Camp Dodge, 7700 N.W. Beaver Drive, P.O. Box 130, Johnston, 50131-0130 515/242-5357: FAX: 515/242-5471

## Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council

THOMAS C. LILLQUIST, chair, Forest City; term expires 2001; GERALD HINZMAN, vicechair. Cedar Rapids; term expires 2002; REP. BARRY BRAUNS. Conesville; term expires 2001: JACQUELINE DAY, Des Moines; term expires 2001: LYNNE R. DeKRUIF, Osage; term expires 2000: THOMAS E. GUSTAFSON, Dension; term expires 2002; ROXANNE JOHNSON, Council Bluffs; term expires 2000; D. STEVEN LYNN, Davenport; term expires 1999; VACANT

The Iowa Law Enforcement Academy was created by action of the 62nd General Assembly in 1967 to maximize training opportunities for law enforcement officers, to coordinate training and to set standards for the law enforcement service, as provided for in Chapter 80B, the Code of Iowa.

The academy provides residential training sessions varying in length from 12-week basic certification courses to one day specialty and in-service seminars. Academy sponsored and conducted training programs are held in the field as well as at the central facility at Camp Dodge.

Action taken by the 71st General Assembly assigned to the academy the responsibility of providing training to jailers in county jails and city holding facilities. In addition, the academy was given the responsibility for the administration of a program of psychological testing of applicants for law enforcement positions. Action by the 76th General Assembly placed with the Academy responsibility for providing training for telecommunicators.

All reserve peace officers in the state who are granted authority by their jurisdiction to carry weapons must first be certified to do so by application to and approval of the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council. The academy develops training programs, approves regional training programs, establishes hiring standards for peace officers and provides audio-visual resources to law enforcement training and educational institutions.

## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

C. David Bolender, executive director

Iowa Public Television, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131 515/242-3100 www.iptv.org

BETTY JEAN FURGERSON, president, Waterloo; term expires 2000; CORINE A. HADLEY, vice-president, Newton; term expires 2000; JOHN T. BLONG, Eldridge; term expires 1999; CHERYL M. CRITELLI, Clive; term expires 1999; PAUL FREDERICKSEN, Ankeny; term expires 1999; FRANK JUDISCH, M.D., Iowa City; term expires 2001; LINDA KLINGER, Waterloo; term expires 2000; DAVID L. CLINEFELTER, Lamoni; term expires 2001; ALBERT N. WOOD, Estherville; term expires 2001

Chapter 256.82 of the Code of Iowa creates a board to be known as the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the state association of private colleges and universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the state board of regents and one appointed by the state board of education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services including narrowcast and broadcast systems to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV, Channel 11 in Des Moines; KIIN-TV, Channel 12 in Iowa City; KRIN-TV, Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV, Channel 27 in Sioux City; KBIN-TV, Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV, Channel 36 in Red Oak; KYIN-TV, Channel 24 in Mason City; KTIN-TV, Channel 21 in Ft. Dodge; and translators Channel 33 in Ottumwa, Channel 38 in Ft. Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.