## IOWA PUBLIC BROADCASTING BOARD

C. David Bolender, executive director; Iowa Public Television, P.O. Box 6450, Johnston 50131; 515/242-3100

BETTY JEAN FURGERSON, president, Waterloo; term expires 2000 CORINE A. HADLEY, vice-president, Newton; term expires 2000 JOHN T. BLONG, Eldridge; term expires 1999 CHERYL M. CRITELLI, Clive; term expires 1999 PAUL FREDERICKSEN, Ankeny; term expires 1999 FRANK JUDISCH, M.D., Iowa City; term expires 1998 LINDA KLINGER, Waterloo; term expires 2000 ROBERT L. VOGEL, Waverly; term expires 1998 ALBERT N. WOOD, Estherville; term expires 1998

Chapter 256.82 of the *Code of Iowa* creates a board to be known as the Iowa Public Broadcasting Board consisting of nine members: four appointed by the governor, one appointed by the superintendents of the merged area schools, one appointed by the state association of private colleges and universities, one appointed by the administrators of the area education agencies, one appointed by the state board of regents and one appointed by the state board of education.

The purpose of the board is to plan, establish, and operate educational radio and television facilities and other telecommunications services including narrowcast and broadcast systems to serve the educational needs of the state.

The board currently operates KDIN-TV, Channel 11 in Des Moines; KIIN-TV, Channel 12 in Iowa City; KRIN-TV, Channel 32 in Waterloo; KSIN-TV, Channel 27 in Sioux City; KBIN-TV, Channel 32 in Council Bluffs; KHIN-TV, Channel 36 in Red Oak; KYIN-TV, Channel 24 in Mason City; KTIN-TV, Channel 21 in Ft. Dodge; and translators Channel 33 in Ottumwa, Channel 38 in Ft. Madison, Channel 44 in Keokuk, Channel 54 in Keosauqua, Channel 25 in Rock Rapids, Channel 33 in Sibley, Channel 14 in Decorah, and Channel 41 in Lansing.

## IOWA WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

Cynthia P. Eisenhauer, director; 1000 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5365 FAX 281-4698

Iowa Workforce Development will commit its resources to Iowa's prosperity by working to ensure the income security, productivity, safety and health of all Iowans. The department will strive to provide safe workplaces, provide a productive and economically secure workforce, provide all Iowans with access to workforce development services and become a model workplace.

The department is comprised of six divisions; Industrial Services, Labor Services, Research & Information Services, Customer & Administration Services, Unemployment Insurance Services, Workforce Development Center Administration and the office of Workforce Development Policy. The director has general supervision over the agency and prepares, administers, and controls the budget of the department and its divisions.

## Industrial Services Division

Iris Post, industrial commissioner; 1000 E. Grand Ave., Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5934 FAX 515/281-4698

The Workers' Compensation Law was enacted by the General Assembly in 1913. This law provides medical and wage replacement benefits to workers who sustain injurics arising out of their employment. The Workers' Compensation Law is administered by the industrial commissioner. Iowa was one of the first states to provide benefits for injuries, occupational diseases, and occupational hearing losses sustained by workers. Injuries resulting in death, permanent disability or temporary disability must be reported to the commissioner. If an agreement as to compensation cannot be reached, the employee may request a hearing before a deputy commissioner in the judicial district where the injury occured. Decisions are reviewed by the commissioner and may be appealed to the District Court and the Supreme Court.