Iowa Real Estate Commission

Executive Hills, Des Moines

C. R. GALVIN, Knoxville, Director. JOHN J. POGGE, Council Bluff; term expires 1979. KATHRYN L. GRAF, Fairfield; term expires 1976. DONALD E. KNUDSEN, Chairman, Eagle Grove; term expires 1977. GRACIE M. RUDEN, LeMars; term expires 1978. JULIE ZELENKA, Iowa City; term expires 1978.

The first real estate license law was enacted by the 43rd General Assembly and became effective Jan. 1, 1930. This law was revised by the Acts of the 66th General Assembly, Code 1976.

A thorough knowledge of the real estate license law and state regulations is necessary to obtain a state license to enter the real estate business, and to enable a person established in business to do his part in maintaining the ethical standards desired by the profession and required by law.

The present law requires a complete and comprehensive written examination for all applicants which is held 10 times a year at a specific time and place set by the commission. The examination fee is \$10.00.

The fees for a broker's and salesperson's licenses are \$20 and \$10 respectively. The same amount is charged each year for renewal of the license which expires on December 31 of the year of issuance.

A law enacted by the 66th General Assembly requires each applicant for a salesperson's license to be issued an apprentice salesperson's license which shall expire on the last day of the twelfth calendar month following the month in which the license is issued.

Each apprentice salesperson is required to successfully complete a commission approved short course in real estate education of not less than 30 hours at a facility approved by the commission, after which a salesperson's license will be issued, and this will expire annually on December 1.

State Records Commission

MELVIN D. SYNHORST, Des Moines, Secretary of State and Chairman.

JACK MUSGROVE, Des Moines, Director, Historical Museum and Archives.

MAURICE E. BARINGER, West Des Moines, State Treasurer.

MARVIN R. SELDEN, JR., Polk County, State Comptroller.

WILLIAM O'BRIEN, Des Moines, Supreme Court Administrator.

Senator WARREN E. CURTIS, Cherokee.

STANLEY L. MCCAUSLAND, Des Moines, Director, Department of General Services and Secretary.

CHRISTINE M. BAEDKE, Ankeny, Records Management Adminstrator.

The State Records Commission, established in 1974 under legislation enacted by the 65th General Assembly, is responsible for the management of state records. All executive departments, offices, commissions, and boards, with the exception of the Iowa Department of Transportation and the agencies and institutions under the control of the State Board of Regents, are subject to the policies and provisions of the Commission's records management program, as documented in the State Records Management Manual. The Iowa Department of Transportation and the State Board of Regents are required to obtain State Records Commission approval of the administrative rules documenting the respective records management programs of those agencies.

Specific duties of the State Records Commission include the determination of those records of sufficient administrative, legal, fiscal, research, or historical value to warrant continued preservation; the determination of those records of no further administrative, legal, fiscal, research, or historical value, to be disposed of or destroyed; the establishment of a system for the protection and preservation of records essential for the continuity or re-establishment of governmental functions in the event of an emergency arising from enemy action or natural disaster; the approval of the purchase of records storage equipment and supplies by state agencies; and the approval of the purchase of records duplicating or microfilming equipment and supplies by state agencies.

The Records Management Division of the Department of General Services provides administrative support to the State Records Commission. The Division reviews records-related systems within the state agencies, and provides to the Records Commission recommendations for changes necessary to assure maximum efficiency and economic use of equipment and procedures. In addition, the Records Management Division functions as a liaison on behalf of the State Records Commission, and implements the directives, policies, and decisions of the Commission as applied to the state agencies.

State Board of Regents

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines

Appointed by the Governor. Term of six years.

STANLEY BARBER, Wellman, Rep.; term expires 1979. S.J. BROWNLEE, Emmetsburg, Rep.; term expires 1979.

HARRY SLIFE, Cedar Falls, Rep.; term expires 1979.

RAY V. BAILEY, Milford, Dem.; term expires 1981.

MRS. H. RAND PETERSEN, Harlan, Rep.; term expires 1981.

DONALD H. SHAW, Davenport, Dem.; term expires 1981.

JOHN D. BALDRIDGE, Chariton, Dem.; term expires 1977.

MRS. ROBERT M. COLLISON, Oskaloosa, Dem.; term expires 1977.

STEVEN E. ZUMBACH, West Des Moines, Rep.; term expires 1977.

R. WAYNE RICHEY, Des Moines, Executive Secretary of Board.

Board Office Staff

ROBERT J. BARAK, Des Moines, Director of Research and Information.

WALLACE C. CALDWELL, Des Moines, Budget Director.

ROGER A. MAXWELL, Des Moines, EEO Compliance Officer.

ROBERT G. MCMURRAY, Des Moines, Director of Facilities and Business Management.

R. WAYNE RICHEY, Des Moines, Executive Secretary.

DONALD R. VOLM, Des Moines, Merit System Director.

Institutions governed by Board of Regents

 State University of Iowa, Iowa City
 Willard L. Boyd, President.

 Iowa State University of Science and Technology,
 W. Robert Parks, President.

 University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls
 John J. Kamerick, President.

Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School,

Department of Revenue

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines

GERALD D. BAIR, Ankeny, Director.

The Iowa Department of Revenue was established on Jan. 1, 1968. The Director of Revenue, appointed by the Governor, is the chief administrative officer of the Department of Revenue and as such assumes all of the powers and responsibilities previously entrusted to the State Tax Commission. In addition, he is empowered to appoint deputy directors.

Also created within the structure of the Department of Revenue is a State Board of Tax Review. The bipartisan board consists of three members appointed for six-year terms, except for first appointees. The state board serves in a review capacity, being empowered to pass upon all actions of the director and affirm, modify, reverse or remand such actions. The board is constituted as a separate tax research commission to aid and advise in the legislative process.

The members of the State Board of Tax Review are: