Capitol Planning Commission, State

Janet E. Phipps, secretary, Hoover State Office Building, Level A, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-3196

MARIE MILLARD, chair, Woodbine; term expires 1997 SEN. JOHN JENSEN, Plainfield; term expires 1995 SEN. WILLIAM PALMER, Pleasant Hill; term expires 1995 REP. MICHAEL CATALDO, Des Moines, term expires 1995 REP. DONNA HAMMIT, Logan; term expires 1997 ORVILLE CROWLEY, Cumming; term expires 1999 TERRANCE A. HOPKINS, Des Moines; term expires 1999 LORAL KIRKE, Des Moines; term expires 1997 JACK E. LEAMAN, Mason City; term expires 1997 KAREN POLKING, Jefferson; term expires 1999

The Iowa State Capitol Planning Commission was established by the 58th General Assembly in 1959, and is composed of legislators, residents of the state appointed by the governor, and the Director of the Department of General Services. The commission's purpose is to advise on the location and architecture of buildings and other aspects of the development of Iowa's state capitol grounds.

Records Commission, State,

Kristi Little, Department of General Services, Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-5231

The State Records Commission, established in 1974 under legislation enacted by the 65th General Assembly, is responsible for the management of state records. The commission consists of the following or their designees: secretary of state, director of the Department of Cultural Affairs, treasurer of state, director of the Department of Revenue and Finance, director of the Department of Management, state librarian, auditor of state, and the director of the Department of General Services who serves as secretary of the commission.

Specific duties of the State Records Commission include the determination of those records of sufficient administrative, legal, fiscal, research, or historical value to warrant continued preservation; the determination of those records of no further value be disposed of or destroyed; the establishment of a system for the protection and preservation of records essential for the continuity or re-establishment of governmental functions in the event of an emergency; the approval of the purchase of records duplicating or microfilming equipment and supplies by state agencies; the establishment of procedures for the economical and efficient use of forms; maintentance of an index of all state agency forms; and review of the forms management practices of state agencies.

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE FOR VOLUNTEERS

Barbara Finch, director; Governor's Office, State Capitol Building, Des Moines 50319; 515/281-8304

The Governor's office on Volunteerism was established by executive order on November 2, 1978.

The GOV's functions are: 1) to develop and expand volunteer programs in order to enhance the work of public and private agencies and institutions; 2) to provide greater recognition and visibility to volunteer efforts; 3) to serve as an information resource center on subjects related to volunteerism; 4) to provide technical assistance and consultation to the voluntary sector; and 5) to identify areas in the public and private sector in which volunteers could make a contribution and encourage the same.

The lowa Commission on National and Community Service

The Commission was established by Executive Order Number 48 in February 1994. It serves the AmeriCorp Programs, the Learn and Serve Programs, and all other volunteer activities as requested.

Members are appointed by the Governor to serve no more than two three-year terms.

DAVID WEISS, chair, Ankeny; term expires 1998 ELIZABETH BAUER, Storm Lake; term expires 1997 MICHAEL BAILEY, Redfield; term expires 1996 IVETTE BENDER, Boone; term expires 1997