THE IOWA AWARD

The Iowa Award is the state's highest citizen award. Its origins began in 1948 when Governor Robert D. Blue and the Iowa Legislature established the Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation. The foundation was assigned responsibility for managing the \$198,000 collected from the sale of memorial half-dollars during the Centennial year in 1947. One-half of the remaining proceeds from the coin sales is to be used for scholarships and to pay for the Iowa Award.

The scholarships are to be awarded annually to high school seniors and college students from Iowa who plan to attend a post-secondary school or already attend a school in Iowa. Information regarding scholarships may be obtained by contacting the Office of the Treasurer of State.

The Iowa Award was first awarded in 1951. The purpose of the Iowa Award, as defined by the foundation, is to "encourage and recognize the outstanding service of Iowans in the fields of science, medicine, law, religion, social welfare, education, agriculture, industry, government and other public service" and to recognize the "merit of their accomplishments in Iowa and throughout the United States." By giving "awards, medals or any other proper means of recognition", the State of Iowa applauds the "outstanding ability, service and achievement by Iowans" and takes pride in sharing the outstanding benefits of their accomplishments. The Iowa Award is given approximately every five years.

The remaining one-half of the proceeds was placed in a trust which will be used to fund future state anniversary celebrations. In April 1991, the fund stood at \$27,800 less scholarships.

The foundation is comprised of the governor, treasurer of state, attorney general, president of the Board of Regents, former governors who have remained residents of Iowa and citizen trustees. Current citizen trustees are Murray Goodman, Des Moines; Mary Louise Smith, Des Moines; and George Mills, Des Moines.

Iowa Award Recipients

- 1951 President Herbert Hoover
- 1956 Jay N. Darling
- 1961 Dr. Frank Spedding & Dr. James Van Allen
- 1966 Henry A. Wallace
- 1970 Mrs. Mamie Eisenhower
- 1975 Dr. Karl King
- 1978 Dr. Norman Borlaug
- 1980 Monsignor Luigi Liguitti
- 1984 George Gallup
- 1988 Meredith Wilson