

**Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation** 

Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

The Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation was created in 1948 by Gov. Robert D. Blue, to manage the \$198,000 collected from the sale of Iowa commemorative half dollars minted during Iowa's centennial year, 1947.

In accordance with Blue's executive order in 1948, the money was invested with half of the earnings added to the capital. The balance of the earnings is used to support scholarships for needy students and to confer the Iowa Award. The fund now stands at more than \$350,000. Five hundred, Iowa Centennial, half dollar coins will be sold in 1996 to help celebrate the 150th anniversary of the state. The remaining 500 coins will be sold in 2046 to help finance the state's bicentennial observance.

The Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation is comprised of the governor, treasurer of state, attorney general, president of the Board of Regents, former governors who have remained residents of Iowa and citizen trustees. The citizen trustees named by Blue in 1948 were: Ralph Evans, Davenport; Mary Humeston, Albia; Helen Mitchell, Council Bluffs; and John M. Henry, Des Moines. Current citizen trustees include: Carl Cacacciatori, Des Moines; Murray Goodman, Des Moines; Mary Louise Smith, Des Moines; S.J. Brownlee, Iowa City.

## Iowa Award

The Iowa Award, the state's most prestigious honor, was created in 1951 and is funded and conferred by the Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation. The award, which is granted approximately every five years, is given to notable persons of Iowa selected by the foundation.

Past Iowa Award recipients include: Herbert Hoover, Jay N. Darling, Drs. James Van Allen and Frank Spedding, Henry A. Wallace, Mamie Eisenhower, Dr. Karl King, Dr. Norman Borlaug and Monsignor Luigi Ligutti.

Pictures of the recipients hang in the reception room in the governor's office.

## Use of State Banner by Legislature

The 61st General Assembly, by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1, resolved: "That on each day when either the House or Senate convenes that the state banner shall be raised on the flag poles directly over the chambers of either and that the state banner shall be lowered at each time the House or the Senate adjourns for the day."

This usage replaces the prior employment of the U.S. flag for this purpose, which the legislative resolution declared to be improper.