

Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation

Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

The sale of memorial half dollars in Iowa's Centennial Year, 1947, brought the state \$198,000. This fund is administered by the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission, and has grown to more than \$290,000. The commission is authorized to spend the income from he fund for awards and scholarships, amounting to approximately \$6.225 yearly. This amount provides for 25 to 30 scholarships each year.

In 1951 the Iowa award was created and presented to ex-President Herbert Hoover. The award has also been made to Jay N. Darling, Drs. Spedding and Van Allen, Henry Wallace and Mamie Eisenhower.

Membership of the commission includes all former governors, four citizen members, and several state officials who serve ex officio. The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue. Members include the governor, who is chairman; president of the state board of regents, secretary; state treasurer, treasurer; and attorney general, attorney.

Citizen members are Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Council Bluffs; Ralph Evans, Davenport; John M. Henry, Des Moines; and Carl Cacciatore, Des Moines.

* * *

Use of State Banner by Legislature

The Sixty-first General Assembly, by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1, resolved: "That on each day when either the house or senate convenes that the state banner shall be raised on the flag poles directly over the chambers of either and that the state banner shall be lowered at each time the house or the senate adjourns for the day."

This usage replaces the prior employment of the United States flag for this purpose, which the legislative resolution declared to be improper.