comradeship in civil life, a most fitting memorial to the Rainbow dead, and a rich heritage to its descendants. The Iowa Rainbow Auxiliary is active in community services, visitation to Veterans' administration hospitals and has the largest membership in the national association. Mrs. Ethel Gardner and Mrs. Helen Davidson have served as National Auxiliary Presidents.

The State Secretary of the Iowa Association is Mr. Don Parr, Oskaloosa.

China-Burma-India Veterans Association

The Carl F. Moershel Basha of Iowa was organized in Des Moines in November, 1952, and is for China-Burma-India veterans of World War II. The late Mr. Moershel, of Homestead, was one of the fourteen Iowans who started the Iowa Basha. (Basha is an Indian word for house or hut.) Mr. Moershel had served in India as a lieutenant colonel with the Tenth Air Force.

There are 500 former China-Burma-India veterans on the Iowa mailing list. National headquarters for this organization are in Milwaukee, Wis. National reunions are held each year, and Iowa was host to the 1960 reunion in Cedar Rapids.

Iowa meetings are held twice a year in different cities. The national charter for the Iowa Basha is on display at the Ox Yoke Inn at Amana, as the owner of this restaurant is a CBI veteran and most state spring meetings have been held there.

Darwin Carlile of Perry was the first state commander. Neil Maurer of Laurens edits the national paper, ex-CBI Roundup, which goes to CBI veterans in all states. Iowans who have served as national CBIVA officers are Donald Doyle of Sioux City, judge advocate, and Ray Alderson of Dubuque and William Liechsenring of Amana, junior vice commanders.

Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation



Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

The sale of memorial half dollars in Iowa's Centennial Year, 1947, brought the state \$188,000. This fund is administered by the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission, and has grown to more than \$240,000. The commission is authorized to spend the income from the fund for awards and scholarships, amounting to approximately \$6,225 yearly. This amount provides for 25 to 30 scholarships each year.

In 1951 the Iowa Award was created and presented to ex-President Herbert Hoover, and in 1956 to Jay N. Darling. More than 175 scholarships to Iowa colleges and universities have been granted.

Membership of the commission includes all former governors, four citizen members, and several state officials who serve ex officio. The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue. Members include the governor, who is chairman; president of the state board of regents, secretary; state treasurer, treasurer; and attorney general, attorney.

Citizen members are Mrs. Mary Humeston, Albia; Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Mason City; Ralph Evans, Davenport; and John M. Henry, Des Moines.



Use of State Banner by Legislature

The Sixty-first General Assembly, by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1, resolved: "That on each day when either the house or senate convenes that the state banner shall be raised on the flag poles directly over the chambers of either and that the state banner shall be lowered at each time the house or the senate adjourns for the day."

This usage replaces the prior employment of the United States flag for this purpose, which the legislative resolution declared to be improper.