girls elect city, county and state officials and carry out all of the functions of government.

Upon registration the boys are assigned to mythical cities in mythical counties, they become members of either the Federalist or Nationalist party. Political caucuses are held, party platforms adopted, and, in a manner as approximate to Iowa law as possible under the circumstances, candidates for all offices are nominated and elected. The legislature passes laws, the courts try cases, bureaus function, city councils pass ordinances, all under the guidance of experienced counsellors. Hawkeye Boys State was originated in 1938.

The girls also are taught by actual participation the fundamental principles of Iowa government. They follow the process from the establishment of city government, through the filing of nomination papers and campaigning for office to the election and installation of the governor and other state officials. During this week, the auxiliary requests city, county and state officials to talk on their particular duties and responsibilities.

Two girls are selected to attend Girls Nation in Washington, D. C., where they are taught the functions of the federal government.

## Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar



## **IOWA CENTENNIAL MEMORIAL FOUNDATION**

The sale of memorial half dollars in Iowa's Centennial Year, 1947, brought the state \$188,000. This fund is administered by the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission, and has grown to more than \$240,000. The commission is authorized to spend the income from the fund for awards and scholarships, amounting to approximately \$6,225 yearly. This amount provides for 25 to 30 scholarships each year.

In 1951 the Iowa Award was created and presented to ex-President Herbert Hoover, and in 1956 to Jay N. Darling. More than 175 scholarships to Iowa colleges and universities have been granted.

Membership of the commission includes all former governors, four citizen members, and several state officials who serve ex officio. The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue. Members include the governor, who is chairman; president of the state board of regents, secretary; state treasurer, treasurer; and attorney general, attorney.

Citizen members are Mrs. Mary Humeston, Albia; Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Mason City; Ralph Evans, Davenport; and John M. Henry, Des Moines.