ATTES OF ATT

Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation

The sale of memorial half dollars in Iowa's Centennial Year, 1947, brought the state \$188,000. This fund is administered by the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission, and has grown to \$200,000. The commission is authorized to spend the income from the fund for awards and scholarships, amounting to about \$4,000 yearly. This amount provides for 17 to 20 scholarships each year.

In 1951 the Iowa Award was created and presented to ex-President Herbert Hoover, and in 1956 to Jay N. Darling. More than 100 scholarships to Iowa colleges and universities have been granted.

Membership of the commission includes all former governors, four citizen members, and several state officials who serve ex officio. The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue. Members include the governor, who is chairman; president of the State Board of Regents, secretary; state treasurer, treasurer; and attorney general, attorney.

Citizen members are Mrs. Mary Humeston, Albia; Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Mason City; Ralph Evans, Davenport; and John M. Henry, Des Moines.