IOWA CENTENNIAL MEMORIAL FOUNDATION

The responsibility of the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission is to administer the \$200,000 fund realized from the sale of memorial half dollars during the Iowa centennial year, 1947. The commission is authorized to spend the income from this fund for awards and scholarships. In 1951 the "Iowa award" was created and presented to Herbert Hoover and to Jay N. Darling in 1956. More than fifty scholarships to Iowa colleges have been granted.

The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue.

The membership of the commission includes all former governors, four "citizen" members, and several state officials, who serve ex officio. The last include the governor, who is chairman of the commission; president of the state board of regents, who is secretary; treasurer, who is treasurer; and attorney general, who is attorney. The "citizen" members are Mrs. Mary Humeston, Albia; Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Mason City; Ralph Evans, Davenport; and John M. Henry, Des Moines.

Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

