DISPATCHER OF STATE AUTOMOBILES

The state car dispatcher shall purchase all new motor vehicles for all branches of the state government; authorize the establishment of motor pools consisting of state-owned cars under his supervision. The state car dispatcher shall cause all state vehicles to be marked by a sign in a conspicuous place showing state ownership, except police-used cars.

The state car dispatcher's duties further include: the assignment to a state officer, employee, state office, department, bureau or commission, one or more required motor vehicles for part or full time use; the authority to revoke said assignment; make periodical inspection of said vehicles; maintain a record system of total number of miles driven, cost per mile of each, record of all purchases of gasoline, lubricating oil, grease and other incidental expense in connection with operation of each vehicle, quantity and price of each purchase, including cost and nature of all repairs on vehicles; maintain a cost history card of each motor vehicle, costs reduced to a cost-per-mile basis; a monthly billing to departments for reimbursement of their operation costs, etc.

During the year 1951, 293 motor vehicles were purchased by this division of the Executive Council, and 258 cars and trucks were sold.

During the year 1952, 267 motor vehicles were purchased by this division of the Executive Council and 261 cars and trucks were sold.

IOWA CENTENNIAL MEMORIAL FOUNDATION

The responsibility of the Iowa Centennial Memorial Commission is to administer the \$200,000 fund realized from the sale of memorial half dollars during the Iowa centennial year, 1947. The commission is authorized to spend the income from this fund for awards and scholarships. In 1951 the "Iowa award" was created and presented to Herbert Hoover. More than a score of scholarships to Iowa colleges have been granted.

The commission was set up in 1949 by Governor Robert D. Blue. The membership of the commission includes all former governors, four "citizen" members, and several state officials, who served exofficio. The last include the governor, who is chairman of the commission; president of the state board of education, who is secretary; treasurer, who is treasurer; and attorney general, who is attorney. The "citizen" members are Mrs. Mary Humeston, Albia; Mrs. Helen Mitchell, Mason City; Ralph Evans, Davenport; and John M. Henry, Des Moines.

Iowa Statehood Centennial Commemorative Half Dollar

