Society staff are available to assist all lowans in researching, preserving, and interpreting the history of their communities. In addition, the society offers grants that enable local communities and individuals to organize local preservation programs and to preserve the state's historical resources.

Grant Programs

Certified Local Governments Grant Program - Kerry McGrath, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-6826

Local governments that have certified local government (CLG) status may apply for funds to complete projects to identify, evaluate, and nominate historical buildings, sites or structures, comprehensive historic preservation planning, and public education projects. The annual grant deadline is in December.

Historical Resource Development Program - Kathy Gourley, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-6913

Historical Resource Development Program (HRDP) grants are designed to help individuals, businesses, nonprofit organizations, Indian tribes, state and local government agencies, and CLGs in identifying, preserving, and interpreting their historical resources. The annual grant deadline is in January.

For additional information write to State Historical Society of Iowa, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319, or call (515)281-6918.

Historic Site Preservation Grant Program - Kathy Gourley, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-6913

Historic site preservation grants provide funds to acquire, repair, rehabilitate, and develop historical sites that preserve, interpret, or promote Iowa's cultural heritage. Projects funded by this program must promote an understanding of the record of human experience within Iowa. All grants must involve work on "vertical infrastructures," which is defined in Iowa Code section 8.57. For additional information write to State Historical Society of Iowa, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319, or call (515)281-6918.

IOWA CULTURAL TRUST BOARD OF TRUSTEES

§303A.5

Historical Division, Historical Building, 600 East Locust Street, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-8875

Term Ending Date/

		Torric Shoring Date
Name	City	Type of Appointment
Willard Boyd, Chair	Iowa City	April 30, 2006
John Gronen	Dubuque	April 30, 2006
Mary Kelly	Des Moines	April 30, 2010
Ritch LeGrand	Sioux City	April 30, 2006
Mary Louise McGinn		
Henry Neuman	Le Claire	April 30, 2010
Kim Poam Logan	West Des Moines	April 30, 2006
Ted Tedesco		•
Ex officio members:		
Michael L. Fitzgerald, Treasurer of State		Statutory
Brad Lang, Chair of Arts Council		
John Liepa, Chair of State Historical Society Board of Trustees		
Anita Walker, Director, Department of Cultural Affairs		2