## IOWA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

Ch 216

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515) 281-4121 or (800) 457-4416; www.state.ia.us/government/crc

Beth Townsend, Director		Serves at Pleasure of Governor
Name	City	Term Ending
Mary Chapman, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2013
Patricia Lipski	Washington	April 30, 2015
Randy Moore	Davenport	April 30, 2013
Frederick Morain	Jefferson	April 30, 2013
Mary Ann Spicer	Des Moines	April 30, 2015
Angela Williams	Urbandale	April 30, 2015
Nancy Witt	Reinbeck	April 30, 2013

Under the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Iowa Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) is charged with enforcement of the Act. The ICRC investigates, mediates, and conciliates complaints of discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, and education on the basis of race, creed, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, or disability. Three other bases include age (employment and credit only), familial status (housing and credit only), and marital status (credit only). Mental disability is not covered for credit practices. If conciliation efforts fail, public hearings may be scheduled and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. The ICRC conducts training and outreach to prevent and eliminate discrimination and to educate stakeholder groups on civil rights laws.

The commission consists of seven members appointed by the Governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1. The executive director is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

## COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION

§261.1

Iowa Building, 603 East 12th Street, Des Moines 50319-9017; (515) 725-3400; www.iowacollegeaid.org

## Karen Misjak, Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Janet L. Adams, Chair	Webster City	June 30, 2014
Robert Denson	Ankeny	June 30, 2013
Crystal Ford	Cedar Falls	June 30, 2013
Shazia Manus	Ames	June 30, 2014
Terrence Martin	Johnston	June 30, 2013
Frederick Moore	. Storm Lake	June 30, 2015
Doug Schull	. Indianola	June 30, 2015
Kelli Todd	Iowa City	June 30, 2014