Nonvoting members appointed by the General Assembly:

Senate			
Roger Stewart	Preston	January 12, 2009	
Pat Ward	West Des Moines	January 12, 2009	
House			
Roger Thomas	Elkader	January 12, 2009	

The Iowa Capital Investment Board (ICIB) was created in the 2002 Legislative Session. The ICIB reviews applications for potential tax credits from qualifying businesses, community-based seed capital funds, and venture capital funds. The ICIB works with the Department of Revenue in the administration of the tax credits. If an application is approved, then the ICIB, through the department, will issue the actual tax credit certificate to the qualified investors.

IOWA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

Ch 216
mes State Office Ruilding 1

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4121 or (800)457-4416; www.state.ia.us/government/crc

Ralph Rosenberg, DirectorServes at Pleasure of Governor

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Alicia Claypool, Chair		
Rich Eychaner	Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Debbie Gitchell	Ames	April 30, 2011
Constance Gronstal	Council Bluffs	April 30, 2009
Frederick Morain	Jefferson	April 30, 2009
Timothy Tutt	Des Moines	April 30, 2009
Nancy Witt	Reinbeck	April 30, 2009

Under the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Iowa Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) is charged with investigating, mediating, resolving, or issuing decisions on complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, and education on the basis of race, creed, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, or disability. Three other bases include age (employment and credit only), familial status (housing and credit only), and marital status (credit only). Mental disability is not covered in credit. If conciliation efforts fail, public hearings may be scheduled and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. The ICRC conducts training and outreach to prevent and eliminate discrimination and to educate stakeholder groups on civil rights laws and policies.

The commission consists of seven members appointed by the Governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1. The executive director is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.