COMMISSION FOR THE BLIND

§216B.2

Department for the Blind, 524 Fourth Street, Des Moines 50309-2364; (515)281-1333 or (800)362-2587; TTY (515)281-1355

Name	City	Term Ending
Steven Hagemoser	Des Moines	April 30, 2012
Michael Hoenig	Davenport	April 30, 2010
Sandra Ryan	Ankeny	April 30, 2011

IOWA CAPITAL INVESTMENT BOARD

§15E.63

Department of Revenue, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-3204

Name		Term Ending
Gordon (Rick) Neumann, Chair	Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Eugene Blanshan	Panora	April 30, 2010
Suzanna de Baca	Maxwell	April 30, 2012
Carol Garrett	Bettendorf	April 30, 2013
Daniel Rogers	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2014

Nonvoting members from the General Assembly:

Senate			
Randy Feenstra	Hull	January 10, 2011	
Roger Stewart	Preston	January 10, 2011	
House			
Nathan Willems	Lisbon	January 10, 2011	

The Iowa Capital Investment Board (ICIB) was created in the 2002 Legislative Session. The ICIB reviews applications for potential tax credits from qualifying businesses, community-based seed capital funds, and venture capital funds. The ICIB works with the Department of Revenue in the administration of the tax credits. If an application is approved, then the ICIB, through the department, will issue the actual tax credit certificate to the qualified investors.

IOWA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

Ch 216

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4121 or (800)457-4416; www.state.ia.us/government/crc

Ralph Rosenberg, Director Serves at Pleasure of Governor

Name	City	Term Ending
Alicia Claypool, Chair	West Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Mary Chapman	Des Moines	April 30, 2013
Rich Eychaner	Des Moines	April 30, 2011
Debbie Gitchell	Ames	April 30, 2011
Keith Johnson	Missouri Valley	April 30, 2013
Frederick Morain	Jefferson	April 30, 2013
Nancy Witt	Reinbeck	April 30, 2013

Under the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Iowa Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) is charged with investigating, mediating, resolving, or issuing decisions on complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, and education on the basis of race, creed, color, sex, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, or disability. Three other bases include age (employment and credit only), familial status (housing and credit only), and marital status (credit only). Mental disability is not covered

in credit. If conciliation efforts fail, public hearings may be scheduled and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. The ICRC conducts training and outreach to prevent and eliminate discrimination and to educate stakeholder groups on civil rights laws and policies.

The commission consists of seven members appointed by the Governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1. The executive director is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

COLLEGE STUDENT AID COMMISSION

§261.1

Clemens Building, 200 Tenth Street, Des Moines 50309-3609; (515)725-3400; www.iowacollegeaid.org

Karen Misjak, Executive Director

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Janet L. Adams, Chair	Webster City	June 30, 2010
Timothy Cole	Cedar Falls	June 30, 2011
Michelle Durand-Adams	Waukee	June 30, 2010
Crystal Ford	Cedar Falls	June 30, 2013
Terrence Martin	Johnston	June 30, 2013
Frederick Moore	Storm Lake	June 30, 2011
Tara Richards	Des Moines	June 30, 2010
Robert Donley, designee of Board of Regents		April 30, 2011
Roger Utman, designee of Director of Education		Statutory

Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly:

Senate Randy Feenstra Hull Hurman C. Quirmbach Ames January 10, 2011 House Greg Forristall Macedonia January 10, 2011 Cindy Winckler January 10, 2011

The Iowa College Student Aid Commission supports postsecondary education in Iowa by administering income-sensitive student financing that promotes access and academic choice, academic recognition, and professional staffing in critical shortage fields; providing coordinated information describing student aid programs and Iowa's postsecondary education; effectively and efficiently administering existing programs authorized by state and federal governments; and continually evaluating and promoting changes to improve student assistance programs.

The commission is responsible for planning and administering programs of assistance to both public and independent colleges and universities throughout Iowa. Represented on the 14-member commission are the Board of Regents, the Department of Education, Iowa independent colleges and universities, Iowa community colleges, each house of the General Assembly, Iowa lending institutions, Iowa students, student loan borrowers, and the general public. The lender, student, general public, and independent college, community college, and borrower representatives are appointed by the Governor. The director of the Department of Education serves by virtue of office. The remaining four members are appointed by the bodies they represent.

Established in April 1964 to implement the federal assistance program for construction of academic facilities provided by the Higher Education Act of 1963, the commission now administers the programs described below.

Federal Family Education Loan Programs

Stafford Student Loan Program – This program was implemented in 1979 and allows students to borrow from commercial lending institutions at a low rate of interest to meet educational ex-