IOWA CAPITAL INVESTMENT BOARD

§15E.63

Department of Revenue, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-3204

Name	City	Term Ending Date	
Cyril Mandelbaum, Chair	West Des Moines	April 30, 2007	
Eugene Blanshan	Panora	April 30, 2010	
Burt Chojnowski	Fairfield	April 30, 2009	
Carol Garrett	Bettendorf	April 30, 2008	
Gordon Neumann	Des Moines	April 30, 2006	
Nonvoting members appointed by the General Assembly:			
Senate			
Paul McKinley	Chariton	January 8, 2007	
Roger Stewart	Preston	January 8, 2007	
House			
Roger Thomas	Elkader	January 8, 2007	

IOWA CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

Ch 216

Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-4121; (800)457-4416; fax (515)242-5840 www.state.ia.us/government/crc

Ralph Rosenberg, Director.....Serves at Pleasure of Governor

Name	City	Term Ending Date
David Leshtz, Chair	Iowa City	April 30, 2007
Alicia Claypool	Des Moines	April 30, 2007
Constance Gronstal		•
Frederick Morain		
Timothy Tutt		
Dinh Van Lo		•
Nancy Witt		•

Under the Iowa Civil Rights Act of 1965, as amended, the Iowa Civil Rights Commission (ICRC) is charged with investigating, holding hearings, and rendering decisions on complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, and education on the basis of race, creed, color, sex, religion, national origin, or disability. Three other bases include age (employment and credit only), familial status (housing and credit only), and marital status (credit only). Mental disability is not covered in credit. Hearings are provided in the event of failure of conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. ICRC also plans and conducts programs designed to prevent and eliminate discrimination and to educate stakeholder groups on civil rights laws and policies.

The commission consists of seven members appointed by the Governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1. The executive director is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.