## CITIZENS' AIDE/OMBUDSMAN

William P. Angrick II, citizens' aide/ombudsman; 515 East 12th, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3592

The Citizens' Aide office was established Oct. 1, 1970, by Gov. Robert D. Ray as part of his office. In 1972, the Citizens' Aide Act, now Chapter 601G of the Iowa Code, was passed, removing the citizens' aide from the governor's office and placing it directly under the Legislative Council. The citizens' aide is appointed to a four-year term by the Legislative Council subject to confirmation by a majority vote of both houses of the General Assembly. The citizens' aide receives and investigates complaints from the public concerning the administrative actions of public officials of state and local government in Iowa. When a citizen's complaint is deemed justified, the citizens' aide recommends to the agency that it take corrective action. The citizens' aide may publish recommendations and conclusions. Excluded from the citizens' aide's jurisdiction are the governor and the governor's personal staff, the General Assembly and its staff, the courts and appurtenant judicial staff. The citizens' aide does not have the authority to investigate complaints of employees of agencies which relate to their employment. By implication, the citizens' aide does not have the authority to investigate agencies of the federal government and non-governmental entities.

The Citizens' Aide Act was amended by the laws of the 65th General Assembly (1974) to create the position of deputy for corrections. The deputy for corrections specializes in the receipt and the investigation of complaints from or relating to inmates in correctional institutions.

## CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION

Artis Van Roekel Reis, executive director; 507 10th Street, Des Moines 50309; 515-281-4121

MARGUERITE COTHORN, Des Moines; term expires 1985 JANE EASTIN, Bettendorf; term expires 1985 GRETCHEN HAMLETT, Des Moines; term expires 1987 KARL A. NELSON, Shell Rock; term expires 1985 PAUL MURPHY, Clinton; term expires 1985 JOSEPH RODRIGUEZ, Davenport; term expires 1987 LORENZO CREIGHTON, Waterloo; term expires 1987

Under an act of the 61st General Assembly as amended, the Civil Rights Commission is charged with investigating, holding hearings, and rendering decisions on any complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, apprenticeship programs, on-the-job training programs, and vocational schools; on the basis of age, race, creed, color, sex, religion, national origin or disability; and with planning and conducting programs designed to eliminate racial, religious, cultural and intergroup tensions. The commission consists of seven members appointed by the governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Hearings are provided in the event of failure of conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1.

## **COLLEGE AID COMMISSION, IOWA**

James E. Shay, executive director; 201 Jewett Building, Des Moines 50319; 515-281-3501 ROBERT E. PHIPPS, chair, Fairfield; term expires 1985 ROBERT D. BENTON, Des Moines; term is continuous CHARLES J. BENSMAN, Sioux City; term expires 1987 JEFF BOEYINK, Pella; term expires 1986 WILLIAM R. FERGUSON, Glidden; term expires 1987 SEN. ARTHUR L. GRATIAS, Nora Springs; term expires 1987 REP. CHARLES N. PONCY, Ottumwa; term expires 1987 R. WAYNE RICHEY, Des Moines; term expires 1987 JOHN B. RIGLER, Muscatine; term expires 1986 MARILYN R. TUCKER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1985