## **Civil Rights Commission**

8th Floor — 507 10th St., Des Moines 50319

Appointed by the governor for four-year terms

MARGUERITE COTHORN, Des Moines; term expires 1985 JANE EASTIN, Bettendorf; term expires 1985 RACHEL W. EVANS, Fort Dodge, term expires 1985 GRETCHEN HAMLETT, Des Moines; term expires 1987 JAMES HARMON, Estherville; term expires 1985 LARRY HARRIS, Waterloo; term expires 1987 PAUL MURPHY. Clinton; term expires 1985 JOSEPH RODRIGUEZ, Davenport; term expires 1987 ARTIS VAN ROEKEL REIS, Des Moines, executive director

Under an act of the 61st General Assembly as amended, the Civil Rights Commission is charged with investigating, holding hearings, and rendering decisions on any complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, apprenticeship programs, on-the-job training programs, and vocational schools; on the basis of age, race, creed, color, sex, religion, national origin or disability; and with planning and conducting programs designed to eliminate racial, religious, cultural and intergroup tensions. The commission consists of seven members appointed by the governor to staggered terms of four years subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide an area as practical. Hearings are provided in the event of failure of conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1.

## **College Aid Commission, Iowa**

201 Jewett Building

WILLIAM R. FERGUSON, chair, Glidden; term expires 1983 ROBERT D. BENTON, Des Moines; term is continuous MARY ANN BROWN, Mt. Pleasant; term expires 1986 REP. HORACE DAGGETT, Kent; term expires 1983 SEN. ARTHUR L. GRATIAS, Nora Springs; term expires 1983 KARL F. LANGROCK, Des Moines; term expires 1983 ROBERT PHIPPS, Fairfield; term expires 1985 JOHN PRIHODA, Marshalltown; term expires 1983 R. WAYNE RICHEY, Des Moines; term expires 1983 JOHN RIGLER, Muscatine; term expires 1986 MARILYN TUCKER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1985 WILLIS ANN WOLFF, executive director

The Iowa College Aid Commission is the only state agency responsible for planning and administering programs of assistance to both public and private colleges and universities throughout Iowa. Represented on the 11-member commission are the Board of Regents, the Department of Public Instruction, Iowa private colleges and universities, the Vocational Education Advisory Council, each house of the Iowa Legislature, Iowa lending institutions, Iowa students and the general public. The lender, student, general public and private college representatives are appointed by the governor. The state superintendent of public instruction serves by virtue of office. The remaining four members are appointed by the bodies they represent.

Established in April 1964, to implement the federal assistance program for construction of academic facilities provided by the Higher Education Facilities Act of 1963, the commission now administers the programs described below.

## **Grants for Academic Facilities and Instructional Equipment**

The commission receives applications from colleges and universities for federal funds under Titles VII A and VI B of the Higher Education Act of 1965, verifies their eligibility and assigns relative priorities for grants. On the basis of these priority ratings, the commission recommends to the U.S. Office of Education the distribution of