Citizens' Aide/Ombudsman

515 East 12th, Des Moines 50319

Appointed to four-year term by the Legislative Council

WILLIAM P. ANGRICK II, citizens' aide/ombudsman. RUTH L. MOSHER, first deputy. RAYMOND A. CORNELL, deputy for corrections. IOHN M. SPINNATO, legal analyst. DONEEN WOODWARD, general deputy. LINDA L. HOFFMANN, general deputy.

The Citizens' Aide office was established Oct. 1, 1970 by Gov. Robert D. Ray as a part of his office. In 1972, the Citizens' Aide Act, now Chapter 601G of the lowa Code, was passed removing the Citizens' Aide from the governor's office and placing it directly under the Legislative Council. The Citizens' Aide is appointed to a four-year term by the Legislative Council subject to confirmation by a majority vote of both Houses of the General Assembly. The Citizens' Aide receives and investigates complaints from the public concerning the administrative actions of public officials of state and local government in Iowa. When a citizen's complaint is deemed to be justified, the Citizens' Aide recommends to the agency that it take corrective action. The Citizens' Aide may publish his recommendations and conclusions. Excluded from the Citizens' Aide's jurisdiction are the governor and his personal staff, the General Assembly and its staff, and the courts and appurtenant judicial staff. The Citizens' Aide does not have the authority to investigate complaints of employees of agencies which relate to their employment. By implication, the Citizens' Aide does not have the authority to investigate agencies of the federal government and non-governmental entities.

The Citizen's Aide Act was amended by the laws of the 65th General Assembly (1974), to create the position of deputy for corrections. The deputy for corrections specializes in the receipt and the investigation of complaints from or relating to inmates

in correctional institutions.

Civil Rights Commission

Sixth and Grand, Des Moines 50309

Appointed by the governor for four-year terms.

ANNETTE PIEPER EDGINGTON, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires 1983.

MARGUERITE COLHORN, Des Moines; term expires 1985. REV. JAMES L. HARMON, Estherville; term expires 1985.

RACHEL W. EVANS, Fort Dodge, Republican; term expires 1982.

JACK W. PETERS, Council Bluffs, Republican; term expires 1983. THOMAS P. MCDONNELL, Clinton; term expires 1985.

ALFREDO G. PARRISH, Des Moines, Republican; term expires 1983.

ARTIS VAN ROEKEL REIS, Des Moines, executive director.

Under the act of the 61st General Assembly as amended, the Civil Rights Commission is charged with investigating, holding hearings, and rendering decisions on any complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, credit, housing, apprenticeship programs, on-the-job training programs. and vocational schools; on the basis of age, race, creed, color, sex, religion, national origin, or disability; and with planning and conducting programs designed to eliminate racial, religious, cultural, and intergroup tensions. The commission consists of seven members appointed by the governor to staggered terms of four years each, subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party, and its membership shall represent as wide a geographical diversity as practical. Hearings are provided for in the event of failure of effort toward conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. Commission officers are elected by the members and serve for one year starting on May 1.