of all boilers over 15 pounds pressure. The Sixty-first General Assembly also brought certain low pressure boilers under the inspection law. All low pressure boilers located in places of public assembly after July 1, 1965, must be inspected by the state.

Civil Rights Commission

(Office located at 1209 Executive Hills, Suite 405)

Term Four Years.

Appointed by the Governor.

- ABE D. CLAYMAN, West Des Moines, Democrat; (interim) term expires June 30, 1973.
- ELIZABETH (Mrs. David) KRUIDENIER, Des Moines, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1975.
- MADONNA (Mrs. Cliff) SKOGSTROM, Algona, Republican; term expires June 30, 1973.

LAWRENCE S. SLOTSKY, Sioux City, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975.

- JOHN E. STROTHER, Cedar Falls, Democrat; term expires June 30, 1973.
- DeEDWIN F. WHITE, Burlington, Republican; term expires June 30, 1975.

ALVIN HAYES, JR., Des Moines, Executive Director.

Under the act of the Sixty-first General Assembly as amended, the Civil Rights Commission is charged with investigating, holding hearings, and rendering decisions on any complaints of unfair or discriminatory practices in public accommodations, employment, housing, apprenticeship programs, on-the-job training programs, and vocational schools; and with planning and conducting programs designed to eliminate racial, religious, cultural, and intergroup tensions. The commission consists of seven unpaid members appointed by the governor to staggered terms of four years each, subject to the advice and consent of the senate. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party and its membership shall represent as wide a geographical diversity as practical. Hearings are provided for in the event of failure of efforts toward conciliation, and orders resulting from such hearings are subject to judicial review. Commission officers are elected by the members, and serve for one year starting on July 1.

Commissioner of Insurance

(Office located on the ground floor, Lucas State Office Building)

Term four years. Appointed by the Governor

Term expires June 30, 1971

LORNE R. WORTHINGTON, Decatur County, Insurance Commissioner. JOHN P. CROUCH, Polk County, First Deputy Commissioner. E. ARNOLD SMITH, Polk County, Second Deputy. RICHARD S. BALDWIN, Polk County, Chief Examiner. LARRY J. BRYANT, Polk County, Superintendent of Securities.

The office of commissioner of insurance, as the executive head of the Insurance Department of Iowa, was created by chapter 146, of the laws of the Thirty-fifth General Assembly (1913) and the first commissioner took office July 1, 1914. Previous to that time, the supervision of insurance had been under the direction of the auditor of state.