OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Ch 9

State Capitol, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-8993; www.sos.state.ia.us

MICHAEL MAURO, Secretary of State

Pam Connor, Administration Deputy

Frank Chiodo, Administration Deputy/Legislative Liaison

Harry Davis, Business Services Deputy

Linda Langenberg, Elections Deputy

STATE COMMISSIONER OF ELECTIONS

§47.1

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5865 Michael Mauro, Secretary of State, State Commissioner of Elections

VOTER REGISTRATION COMMISSION

§47.8

Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5866

Name	Type of Appointment
Chuck Laudner, designee	Iowa Republican Party
Mike Milligan, designee	
Jenice Wallace, designee	•
Michael Mauro, Secretary of State and State Commission	oner of Elections, ChairStatutory

BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR VOTING SYSTEMS

§52.4 as amended by 2007 Iowa Acts, Senate File 369 Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; (515)281-5866

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Dan Lehman	Ames	June 30, 2010
Dennis Parrott	.Newton	June 30, 2008
Marjorie Pitts	Spencer	June 30, 2008

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Ch 307

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1111; www.dot.state.ia.us

Nancy Richardson, DirectorServes at Pleasure of Governor

TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

§307.3, Ch 307A

Department of Transportation, 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1242

Name	City	Term Ending Date
Barry Cleaveland, Chair	Council Bluffs	April 30, 2010
Suzan Boden		
Patricia Crawford	.Clive	April 30, 2009
Michael Blouin	.Dubuque	April 30, 2009

Barbara MacGregor	Mason City	April 30, 2008
Wayne Sawtelle	Marshalltown	April 30, 2010
•	Mount Pleasant	•

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), established by the General Assembly in 1974 and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1975, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, are responsible for determination of transportation policy, which is carried out by the Director of Transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve an adequate, safe, efficient, multimodal transportation system.

The department includes seven divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.

HIGHWAY DIVISION

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1124

Kevin Mahoney, Division Director

The Highway Division develops, designs, constructs, and maintains the state primary highway system and bridges; provides technical support to local public agencies; and conducts, supports, and sponsors all facets of transportation research.

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1284

Steve Gast, Division Director

The Information Technology Division provides internal support and equipment services for automation in applying technology for the department's business, and collects, processes, and disseminates information.

MOTOR VEHICLE DIVISION

P.O. Box 9204, Des Moines 50306-9204; (515)237-3121

Shirley Andre, Division Director

The Motor Vehicle Division licenses, registers, and permits all users of the highway system, and enforces commercial vehicle laws and investigates motor vehicle law violations.

OPERATIONS AND FINANCE DIVISION

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1340

Lee Wilkinson, Division Director

The Operations and Finance Division supports the DOT by providing functions that include accounting, budgeting, and auditing; purchasing, inventory, fleet and facilities management; procurement of transit vehicles for local agencies; monitoring state and federal transportation issues and legislation; and coordinating communication of information to internal and external customers

PLANNING, PROGRAMMING AND MODAL DIVISION

800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; (515)239-1661

Neil Volmer, Division Director

The Planning, Programming and Modal Division serves the planning needs of all transportation modes; guides the allocation of funds for state transportation improvements; produces planning