totaling in excess of \$3 billion annually. Additionally, the agency is responsible for administration of various property tax-related functions performed by local government officials.

The agency also manages the state's accounting systems in accordance with accepted accounting principles. The responsibilities include operating the state's payroll system, approval of all claims for state reimbursement, and the issuance of state financial statements.

The Iowa Lottery which was initiated in 1985 is conducted by the Iowa Lottery Board and the department. The lottery activities are planned to ensure the maximum amount of state revenue is generated in a manner which is consistent with the dignity of the state of Iowa.

## State Board of Tax Review

CHRISTOPHER BJORNSTAD, Clay County; term expires 2003; LOWELL NORLAND, Black Hawk County; term expires 2005; MARIA WATERMAN, Scott County; term expires 2001

Created within the structure of the Department of Revenue and Finance is a State Board of Tax Review. The bipartisan board consists of three members appointed by the governor to sixyear terms. The state board serves in a review capacity, being empowered to pass upon all actions of the director and affirm, modify, reverse, or remand such actions.

## lowa Lottery Board

SUSAN THOMPSON, Polk County; term expires 2003; GARY HUGHES, Johnson County; term expires 2002; JAMES KERSTEN, Webster County; term expires 2000; MICHAEL MC COY, Polk County; term expires 2003; MARY JUNGE, Linn County; term expires 2003

The Iowa Lottery Board supervises and approves the activities of the Iowa Lottery. The board establishes policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approves all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishes rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The bipartisan board consists of five members who serve at the pleasure of the governor.

## TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Mark F. Wandro, director 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010 515/239-1111 www.state.ia.us/government/dot

CATHERINE DUNN, Dubuque; term expires 2001; BONNIE L. VETTER, Spencer; term expires 2000; THOMAS L. ALLER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 2003; JANICE JOHNSON, Waverly; term expires 2000; RONALD N. LANGSTON, Des Moines; term expires 2001; GORDON KOKENGE, Clarinda; term expires 2002; DANIEL WIEDEMEIER, Burlington; term expires 2002

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1975, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate, are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve adequate, safe, and efficient transportation services based on the use and benefits that accrue to the public.

The department includes eight divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.