The Iowa Lottery Board supervises and approves the activities of the Iowa Lottery. The board establishes policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approves all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishes rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The bipartisan board consists of five members who serve at the pleasure of the governor.

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Darrel Rensink, director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1111

CATHERINE DUNN, chair, Dubuque; term expires 2001 BONNIE L. VETTER, vice chair, Spencer; term expires 2000 THOMAS L. ALLER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999 JANICE JOHNSON, Waverly; term expires 2000 RONALD N. LANGSTON, Des Moines; term expires 2001 RICHARD PELLETT, Atlantic; term expires 1998 DANIEL WIEDEMEIER, Burlington; term expires 1998

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1975, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate, are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve adequate, safe, and efficient transportation services based on the use and benefits that accrue to the public.

The department includes eight divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.

Director's Staff Division

Mary Christy, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1731

Monitors state and federal transportation issues and legislation: coordinates communication or information to internal and external customers.

Engineering Division

C. I. MacGillivray, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1645

Maintains high quality engineering standards to improve safety in all modes; and coordinates research and development of new processes to improve transportation.

Field Services Division

Michael J. Audino, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1491

Works with local governments and the public to answer questions and help people understand Iowa's transportation system.

Maintenance Division

Neil Volmer, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1708

Maintains highways and bridges; conducts railroad track safety inspections and railroad accident investigations; and administers the rail/highway grade crossing program.

Motor Vehicle Division

Shirley E. Andre, division director; Park Fair Mall, 100 Euclid Avenue. Des Moines 50306-0382; 515/237-3202

Licenses drivers, vehicle dealers and commercial vehicle operators; administers the county registration and titling of automobiles and trucks; enforces licensing, titling and commercial vehicle operating laws.