The Iowa Lottery which was initiated in 1985 is conducted by the Iowa Lottery Board and the department. The lottery activities are planned to insure the maximum amount of state revenue is generated in a manner which is consistent with the dignity of the state of Iowa.

State Board of Tax Review

HAROLD WHITE, chair, Emmet County; term expires 1997 RICHARD PEEBLER, Polk County; term expires 1999 GAYLE NELSON VOGEL, Marion County, term expires 2001

Created within the structure of the Department of Revenue and Finance is a state Board of Tax Review. The bipartisan board consists of three members appointed to six-year terms. The state board serves in a review capacity, being empowered to pass upon all actions of the director and affirm, modify, reverse, or remand such actions.

Iowa Lottery Board

CONNIE ALT, Linn County EMMA CHANCE, Pottawattamie County GARY HUGHES, Johnson County RICHARD SULZBACH, Woodbury County ROSS SUTTON, Polk County

The Iowa Lottery Board supervises and approves the activities of the Iowa Lottery. The board establishes policies for the operation of lottery games within the state; approves all contracts for operation of the lottery; and establishes rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The bipartisan board consists of five members who serve at the pleasure of the governor.

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Darrel Rensink, director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1111

CATHERINE DUNN, chair, Dubuque; term expires 1998 BONNIE L. VETTER, vice-chair, Spencer; term expires 1996 THOMAS L. ALLER, Cedar Rapids; term expires 1999 LLOYD CLARKE, Des Moines; term expires 1998 JANICE JOHNSON, Waverly; term expires 1996 RICHARD PELLETT, Atlantic; term expires 1998 DANIEL WIEDEMEIER, Burlington; term expires 1998

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1975, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system.

Seven commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate, are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve adequate, safe, and efficient transportation services based on the use and benefits that accrue to the public.

The department includes eight divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.

Director's Staff Division

Mary Christy, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1731

Monitors state and federal transportation issues and legislation: coordinates communication or information to internal and external customers.

Engineering Division

C. I. MacGillivray, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-239-1645

Maintains high quality engineering standards to improve safety in all modes; and coordinates research and development of new processes to improve transportation.

Field Services Division

Michael J. Audino, division director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515-237-1491

Works with local governments and the public to answer questions and help people understand Iowa's transportation system.