TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Darrel Rensink, director; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1111

AUSTIN TURNER, chair, Corning; term expires 1994 DOUG SHULL, vice-chair, Indianola; term expires 1993 CATHERINE DUNN, Dubuque; term expires 1993 JANICE JOHNSON, Waverly; term expires 1996 ROBERT H. MEIER, Ottumwa; term expires 1994 BONNIE VETTER, Spencer; term expires 1996 MARLIN M. VOLZ, JR., Davenport; term expires 1995

The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), established by legislation passed by the 65th General Assembly and mandated to begin official functions on July 1, 1975, is responsible for coordinating the various facets of Iowa's transportation system. Seven commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate,

Seven commissioners, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate, are responsible for determination of general operating policies which are carried out by the director of transportation and the department staff.

The purpose of the department is to provide and preserve adequate, safe, and efficient transportation services based on the use and benefits that accrue to the public.

The department includes seven divisions with the duties and responsibilities summarized below.

Administration Division

Nancy J. Richardson, division administrator; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1340

Responsible for general administrative and support services such as accounting, auditing, purchasing, information services, data processing, inventory management, facilities management, and fleet operation.

Air and Transit Division

Michael J. Audino, division administrator; Park Fair Mall, 100 Euclid Avenue, Des Moines 50306; 515/237-3300

Responsible for aircraft registration and airport programs. Responsible for public transit coordination and investigation of feasibility of various types of public transit alternatives, and allocation of federal and state transit assistance.

General Counsel Division

David A. Ferree, special assistant attorney general; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1509

Responsible for handling legal matters for the DOT. Attorneys are assigned from the attorney general's office.

Highway Division

Vacant, division administrator; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1124

Responsible for highway design and right-of-way acquisition resulting in construction and inspection of contracted primary road and bridge projects. Responsible for maintaining Iowa's primary road system for safe usage by the public. Provides assistance to counties and cities in their roadway systems.

Motor Vehicle Division

Shirley E. Andre, division administrator; Park Fair Mall, 100 Euclid Avenue, Des Moines 50306; 515/237-3202

Responsible for vehicle registration, driver licenses, reciprocity and prorate truck registration, dealers' licenses, truck regulation, and commercial motor vehicle enforcement.

Planning and Research Division

C. Ian MacGillivray, division administrator; 800 Lincoln Way, Ames 50010; 515/239-1661

Responsible for DOT environmental analysis; advance planning; project planning and location studies; determination of transportation investment priorities; collection of data; coordination of planning between state and local governments; and economic studies.

Acts as liasion in obtaining and disbursing federal highway funds and overall coordination of investment planning and programming for all programs.

1